You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 8th, 2019, 12:24 AM   #1
sawyer65
Member
United States

sawyer65 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Auburn,AL
Posts: 13
TIA Portal Help

It time to swallow my pride and admit I need help with TIA Portal.I am having a hard time learning the basic's. I am used to working LS,Mitsubishi,Omron and Allen Bradley which are all basically straight forward, set the communication parameters, and then there is a upload/read from PLC/open from PLC type button that will enable me to upload the logic from the PLC to my laptop.I cannot seem to get to that point in TIA Portal.I have read/scanned through huundreds of pages of siemens manuals but everything seems to be slanted to starting from scratch which is not what I need to do. I need to upload the logic from a already programmed PLC for troubleshooting purposes.Will someone point me to a step by step of how to upload the logic from a siemens s7-1200 PLC including any type of conditions I need to check. For example, how to check the version of the software the PLC was last written with so I know which version to load onto my laptop.Also a step by step of how to download to the PLC and how to do online editing would be very helpful.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2019, 01:59 AM   #2
EStufC
Member
Madagascar

EStufC is offline
 
EStufC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Kikuara
Posts: 57
Hi there,

Since TIA Portal itself and S7-1200/1500s became very popular on this side of the pond, at least. I believe, you definetely will able to find just enormous big number of movies and even channels devoted to those products on youtube.

Just make a query on 'TIA, S7-1200, S7-1500'. I'm sure the most of answers you asked above, you'll find watching related videos.


Been through it a few times myself, really.


Also, there's a support forum (for english speaking people as well), where you'll able to ask more concrete questions. https://support.industry.siemens.com/tf/us/en

BR
EStufC

Last edited by EStufC; May 8th, 2019 at 02:19 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2019, 02:40 AM   #3
cardosocea
Member
United Kingdom

cardosocea is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Fields of corn
Posts: 1,598
Do you know the version that the PLC was programmed in? And do you have the correct version to access it with?
  Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2019, 03:32 AM   #4
BryanG
Member
United Kingdom

BryanG is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Manchester
Posts: 1,495
Did a web search for 'video siemens tia portal upload a program' and got a few hits. Haven't needed to upload so I can't say if they are good/bad right/wrong, but it is a good place to start. They all seem to assume that either uploading is allowed or you know any passwords used.



I don't think uploading will get you comments and tag names, so it is a lot better to get an original copy of the program if you can.
__________________
Knowledge is power, share the knowledge.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2019, 03:50 AM   #5
m_turk
Member
Croatia

m_turk is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: ZG
Posts: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanG View Post

I don't think uploading will get you comments and tag names, so it is a lot better to get an original copy of the program if you can.
Uploading will get him everything..

But the biggest problem is knowing and having the exact version of the software that was used. All the problems I had with uploading were because of that.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2019, 04:09 AM   #6
EStufC
Member
Madagascar

EStufC is offline
 
EStufC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Kikuara
Posts: 57
Hi again,

probably this paper might be helpful to you. Read it carefully and It'll shed the light on some things...
Attached Files
File Type: pdf What options are available in STEP 7 (TIA Portal).pdf (54.7 KB, 32 views)

Last edited by EStufC; May 8th, 2019 at 04:38 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2019, 04:12 AM   #7
JesperMP
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Denmark

JesperMP is offline
 
JesperMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Copenhagen.
Posts: 14,298
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_turk View Post
But the biggest problem is knowing and having the exact version of the software that was used. All the problems I had with uploading were because of that.
I have never had to upload with TIA, but I am curious about this.
Is it not enough that the TIA version is same or greater than the one the program was made in ?
__________________
Jesper
See my profile interests for Q&A
  Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2019, 04:16 AM   #8
sigmadelta
Member
Canada

sigmadelta is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: From Canada - Living in Bulgaria
Posts: 1,470
Quote:
I have never had to upload with TIA, but I am curious about this.
Is it not enough that the TIA version is same or greater than the one the program was made in ?
Uploading using later versions is fine, except if the PLC was downloaded with the very first release of TIA Portal (V10.5). You would need V10.5 to upload, and you had to jump through hoops to get it to work.
__________________
Automation Programmer
PLC / HMI / SCADA / SQL
New Systems, Modifications
System Upgrades & Conversions
Siemens EPROM & EEPROM Service
------------------------
Visit: contrologica.com
Email: info@contrologica.com
  Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2019, 04:19 AM   #9
qwemx
Member
United Arab Emirates

qwemx is offline
 
qwemx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: UAE
Posts: 134
This document looks very interesting
https://www.4shared.com/s/f9aOfQJVjee

Last edited by qwemx; May 8th, 2019 at 04:40 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2019, 04:31 AM   #10
JesperMP
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Denmark

JesperMP is offline
 
JesperMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Copenhagen.
Posts: 14,298
Quote:
Originally Posted by sigmadelta View Post
Uploading using later versions is fine, except if the PLC was downloaded with the very first release of TIA Portal (V10.5). You would need V10.5 to upload, and you had to jump through hoops to get it to work.
Thanks. It is unlikely that I shall ever have to upload a V10.5 program

Quote:
Originally Posted by qwemx
I have a 17 MB document which will be helpful.Please send me your email address.
If it is of general interest, then post it in the downloads section.
__________________
Jesper
See my profile interests for Q&A
  Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2019, 04:35 AM   #11
sigmadelta
Member
Canada

sigmadelta is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: From Canada - Living in Bulgaria
Posts: 1,470
Just for a couple of tidbits of information about V10.5...

- it was released in 2009
- only for the S7-1200 PLC
- the firmware of the CPUs was V1.x
- you could only do a consistent download - meaning only download the entire program, and only in STOP mode
__________________
Automation Programmer
PLC / HMI / SCADA / SQL
New Systems, Modifications
System Upgrades & Conversions
Siemens EPROM & EEPROM Service
------------------------
Visit: contrologica.com
Email: info@contrologica.com
  Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2019, 04:38 AM   #12
m_turk
Member
Croatia

m_turk is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: ZG
Posts: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by JesperMP View Post
I have never had to upload with TIA, but I am curious about this.
Is it not enough that the TIA version is same or greater than the one the program was made in ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sigmadelta View Post
Uploading using later versions is fine, except if the PLC was downloaded with the very first release of TIA Portal (V10.5). You would need V10.5 to upload, and you had to jump through hoops to get it to work.
Some later versions can upload older ones, but not all and with various results.. For instance, you can upload, but it will stay as "different" and you can't watch it online.. The others you just can't upload with newer ones. Like V13.0...
  Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2019, 04:38 AM   #13
sawyer65
Member
United States

sawyer65 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Auburn,AL
Posts: 13
I was told it was programmed in either v13 or v14 and I have both downloaded.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2019, 04:39 AM   #14
m_turk
Member
Croatia

m_turk is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: ZG
Posts: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by sawyer65 View Post
I was told it was programmed in either v13 or v14 and I have both downloaded.
V13.0 and V13.sp1 have problems with eachother, that might be the problem.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2019, 04:41 AM   #15
sawyer65
Member
United States

sawyer65 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Auburn,AL
Posts: 13
I also should mention, I don't have enough volume on this laptop here at work to watch youtube.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TIA Portal v15 - does it overwrite v14 / v13? uptown47 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 20 March 8th, 2019 03:59 AM
TIA Portal v14 cannot go online with S7-1500 doomsword LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 May 31st, 2018 05:20 AM
run Step 7 without TIA Portal dmned64 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 June 7th, 2017 06:39 AM
License for TIA Portal ( from S7 to TIA ) Oliver Micka LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 November 29th, 2016 07:40 AM
Siemens OP77B Trouble in TIA Portal Tim James LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 December 24th, 2012 03:27 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:43 PM.


.