DF! protocol master driver query

shroffsp

S
Dear

I am trying to develop a DF1 master driver for SLC5/03 using c on linux. I donot have any experience in programming AB PLC. But I am an Instrumentation Engineer with a lot of experience in DCS.

I am referring the AB's DF1 protocol manual for the development.
I have been successful in reading the integer file location (N7:39).
What I have observed is I am getting a word as a result (respnose = 1247 Hex) of my reading. I am entering a value of 99.9 for this register from the PanelView ( The range specified for this tag is (4 to 100 in the Panel View)

What I want to know is -- does word result require scaling ? I have scanned the DF1 protocol manual. It is silent on this topic. If any scaling is required than, what is the scaling equation to be used?

Can any body provide me any links or code of DF1 driver or protocol anyalser with which I can verify my results?

It could be scaled in PanelView.
Can you read it by Rockwell software 1'st from PLC what is the reg-value ?
Could it be that byte-ordering is different ?
N7:39 sounds as 16-bits integer variable.

Hello Schroffsp;

In the world of Allen-Bradley, different data formats are accessible in different files. In choosing an address such as N7:39, you are using an Integer format; since you are inputing a floating-point value (99.9), you should try a floating-point type file, such as F9:xx. All data treated in this type file will be formatted and treated as a 32-bit floating-point value. You should make sure that the limits in your PanelView re 4.0 to 100.0 (floating point values)so your input can match the file type.
Hope this helps,
Daniel Chartier

Get yourself a protocol analyzer such as the SerialTest available
from B&B electronics. You need to tap into the Rx and Tx lines of your RS-232 comm cable and route these to two different comm ports
(Rx line and Gnd line only) on another PC!
SerialTest actually is shipped with cable splitters which will do just that.