You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 17th, 2019, 06:18 PM   #1
phuz
Member
United States

phuz is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Mohnton, PA
Posts: 1,016
PanelView Plus - Building a chart from arrayed data

I'm wondering if it's even possible to take data stored in an array and populate a chart rather than have it displayed as a real-time/historical trend. This is the first time I'm being asked about doing this in a PVPlus. Off the top of my head, I can't think of anything, but really haven't played around with it yet. This kind of stuff is much easier when we have access to behind-the-scenes scripting.
__________________
http://www.essentialintegrations.com

I had to quit calculus cold turkey. After the the first derivative, then the second derivative, I had no control.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2019, 12:45 PM   #2
id10t_error
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

id10t_error is offline
 
id10t_error's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: California
Posts: 95
https://rockwellautomation.custhelp....il/a_id/769049

The ActiveX ME Chart Control in Factory Talk View ME.

There is a complete PLC/HMI downloadable example at the bottom of the tech note with a word document explaining.
__________________
"We make the solutions up out of modules, so they're all standard, ... They're built for security, reliability, ease of expansion and ease of changing. They're the ideas we had many years ago that tend to get lost today." -Ken Olsen co-founded Digital Equipment Corporation (DEC)

Last edited by id10t_error; May 18th, 2019 at 12:56 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2019, 12:44 PM   #3
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is online now
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 16,856
Thanks for posting that !

In the past, I've created X-Y charts in RSView ME by faking out the X-axis and "feeding" the time series stored values over a period of time. It's an ugly workaround.

The Chart object looks like a much better option.

By coincidence, I have a customer with a PV+ v6 application who asked several years ago for the ability to store and show 20 minutes worth of trend data without having to "page back" through a deep trend log. I'm going to revisit their application to see if I can improve it with new FactoryTalk View firmware and that ActiveX.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 21st, 2019, 04:34 PM   #4
phuz
Member
United States

phuz is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Mohnton, PA
Posts: 1,016
Sorry to jump back on this. I'm getting to play with this a bit more extensively on a customer site and I am wondering if our experiences are par for the course given what we are doing. At certain points in the process, we pause to take a "measurement" which consists of about 500 data points, then the process continues. When I load the ME Chart, which pulls data from the UDT in the PLC, it takes 10-11 seconds to load the data. The HMI basically freezes during this period. If this is typical, then I'll accept it and move on, but this just doesn't seem right.
__________________
http://www.essentialintegrations.com

I had to quit calculus cold turkey. After the the first derivative, then the second derivative, I had no control.

Last edited by phuz; August 21st, 2019 at 04:41 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 22nd, 2019, 02:04 PM   #5
jstolaruk
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

jstolaruk is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Detroit, SE Michigan
Posts: 3,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by phuz View Post
Sorry to jump back on this. I'm getting to play with this a bit more extensively on a customer site and I am wondering if our experiences are par for the course given what we are doing. At certain points in the process, we pause to take a "measurement" which consists of about 500 data points, then the process continues. When I load the ME Chart, which pulls data from the UDT in the PLC, it takes 10-11 seconds to load the data. The HMI basically freezes during this period. If this is typical, then I'll accept it and move on, but this just doesn't seem right.
I've also noticed a delay but my data set is smaller so its hard to get a handle on it. I'll be doing more with it next week.
__________________
I don't always test my code but when I do, I do it in production.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 22nd, 2019, 03:37 PM   #6
phuz
Member
United States

phuz is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Mohnton, PA
Posts: 1,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by jstolaruk View Post
I've also noticed a delay but my data set is smaller so its hard to get a handle on it. I'll be doing more with it next week.
If you find any ways to expedite it, be sure to come back and let us know. I'm trying to play with other ActiveX controls for charts, but there is no documentation on how to implement it in ME. The lack of VBA hinders us quite a bit.
__________________
http://www.essentialintegrations.com

I had to quit calculus cold turkey. After the the first derivative, then the second derivative, I had no control.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2020, 09:55 AM   #7
userbeware
Member
Ireland

userbeware is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Ireland
Posts: 14
Sorry to open this up again. I don't suppose anyone here could post the UDT's required to interact with this ActiveX chart object('Chart' and 'DataSeries')? Unfortunately I do not have access to TechConnect to see the example. I tried to create the UDT's based off some rockwell training documents I found but I appear to still have it incorrect. Cheers.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2020, 10:02 AM   #8
phuz
Member
United States

phuz is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Mohnton, PA
Posts: 1,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by userbeware View Post
Sorry to open this up again. I don't suppose anyone here could post the UDT's required to interact with this ActiveX chart object('Chart' and 'DataSeries')? Unfortunately I do not have access to TechConnect to see the example. I tried to create the UDT's based off some rockwell training documents I found but I appear to still have it incorrect. Cheers.
Hope this helps.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Capture.JPG (74.9 KB, 224 views)
__________________
http://www.essentialintegrations.com

I had to quit calculus cold turkey. After the the first derivative, then the second derivative, I had no control.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2020, 10:03 AM   #9
jstolaruk
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

jstolaruk is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Detroit, SE Michigan
Posts: 3,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by userbeware View Post
Sorry to open this up again. I don't suppose anyone here could post the UDT's required to interact with this ActiveX chart object('Chart' and 'DataSeries')? Unfortunately I do not have access to TechConnect to see the example. I tried to create the UDT's based off some rockwell training documents I found but I appear to still have it incorrect. Cheers.
Hope this helps.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DataSeries.JPG (29.1 KB, 91 views)
File Type: jpg Chart.JPG (72.1 KB, 88 views)
__________________
I don't always test my code but when I do, I do it in production.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2020, 10:25 AM   #10
userbeware
Member
Ireland

userbeware is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Ireland
Posts: 14
Thanks guys. Appreciate it!
  Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2020, 08:16 AM   #11
daniel.pinheiro
Member
Portugal

daniel.pinheiro is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Portugal
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by id10t_error View Post
https://rockwellautomation.custhelp....il/a_id/769049

The ActiveX ME Chart Control in Factory Talk View ME.

There is a complete PLC/HMI downloadable example at the bottom of the tech note with a word document explaining.

Hi there, I've tried to find the example but I think they hide or something.
Someone have that example so I can see how it works?
thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2020, 09:57 AM   #12
nyanpasu
Member
Canada

nyanpasu is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 71
I did it once by hand, but it's pretty tedious. I knew the ActiveX existed but for some reason couldn't make it work.

I made a simple "chart" global object in FTVS consisting of two scales, two fat lines as axes and a bunch of lines segments, as many as I had data points to chart (in my case around 20). I had an AOI in the PLC that when triggered, calculated the starting position, length and angle of each segment within the chart, fed that in arrays which were linked to the line segments on screen by the relevant animations. Worked well, but it was a pain.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2021, 07:14 PM   #13
KirillIvanov
Member
Israel

KirillIvanov is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Eilat
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jstolaruk View Post
Hope this helps.

Hi all,
If I'm using data from MicroLogix 1400 which doesn't have an option for User Defined values I can't use this chart?
  Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2021, 09:32 AM   #14
phuz
Member
United States

phuz is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Mohnton, PA
Posts: 1,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by KirillIvanov View Post
Hi all,
If I'm using data from MicroLogix 1400 which doesn't have an option for User Defined values I can't use this chart?
Correct.
Ditch the MLX and get a 5380 CompactLogix. Very affordable Logix platform.
__________________
http://www.essentialintegrations.com

I had to quit calculus cold turkey. After the the first derivative, then the second derivative, I had no control.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2021, 11:21 AM   #15
KirillIvanov
Member
Israel

KirillIvanov is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Eilat
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by phuz View Post
Correct.
Ditch the MLX and get a 5380 CompactLogix. Very affordable Logix platform.

OK and if I have to use 1400 for this project do I have some other options to built a charts with FTView ME?
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Panelview Plus Data Log File Transfer Dustin11H3 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 20 January 8th, 2020 08:37 AM
panelview plus data collection roxusa LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 10 April 16th, 2018 04:59 PM
PanelView 7 - data log on SD card zitam LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 July 15th, 2016 10:02 AM
Loading .Pre in an array of timers? dginbuffalo LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 24 March 11th, 2016 07:44 PM
Panelview Plus data display issues bozzman2k15 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 May 12th, 2015 12:45 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:40 AM.


.