VMWare Workstation Master/Golden Image

JOLTRON

Lifetime Supporting Member
General question.

I have been using VMWare personally for a few years now. But now I have a need to create a master / golden image of installed software to distribute to others. Since I have not done this before I figured I would come here and ask for advice.

General concept I have heard is create the new virtual machine, install controls software, then do a Sysprep of the system. Then distriute this VM and install any licneses required.

Does this sound about right? Any other suggestions or best practices?

I have done this exact thing using VirtualBox from Oracle.

I basically made multiple Windows XP machines for Siemens software, AB software, and others. I have a Windows 7 machine for AB, as well.

I don't know about VMWare, but VirtualBox takes care of the host OS integration, creating a unified environment for the virtual machines to run on. I simply zip up the virtual machines I made, move them to the new computer, unpack them, and simply add them as new machines. No SysPrep required.

To minimize the size of the machines for transfer, I defrag them and utilize sdelete from Windows Sysinternals to zero out the unused virtual hard drive space (within the virtual machine itself). VirtualBox has a compact feature (via command line) that minimizes the size of the virtual disk. I use dynamically sized disks, so the guest OS thinks that they are 50GB but it only actually uses 9GB, for example, after this procedure. As such, the zip file remains manageable.

If you are interested in checking out VirtualBox, I can post some documents explaining the procedure I mentioned and offer help with it. It is free, so it is worth checking out.

If you are sticking to VMWare, then I apologize, I don't use it, so I am useless for that.

Personally I use VirtualBox at home and have for a long time. Professionally it was recommended that I use VMWare for support reasons.