RSView32 Migration to XP VM - Tags Dropping?

JellyJelly

Hello, I'm a PLC noob! To give you some background, I am a programmer with very little PLC experience, and I've been thrown into learning my company's RSView32 HMI environment, as well as Allen Bradley SLC500 PLC troubleshooting. I am joined by another programmer and a network administrator, neither has experience with PLCs.

We have a control room that runs about 13 RSView projects on noisy, old Windows 2000 PCs. My goal is to move the projects to new, more reliable PCs. To do this, I have some Windows 10 PCs with virtual Windows XP installed to run RSView. The installs work, and I am able to run RSView projects on the virtual Windows XP. In fact, I have one of the new computers with RSView running in the control room.

Here's my problem: When I replace a 2nd old PC with a new one, both of the new computers have problems. The RSView project window starts dropping the tags; instead of showing numbers, I see blank boxes on both of the PCs. Yet, I am able to ping the PLCs from the affected PCs. From my experience with the older PCs, this behavior usually results from loss of communication with the PLC. Usually if I can't ping the PLC, I can't see the tags. What is causing the two PCs to interfere, and what can be done to fix it?

I understand RSView is obsolete, but upgrading is not an option at this point in time. Any help is appreciated!