S7 300 plc mmc card back up

Stuwertz

Hi all ,

In my plant using s7 300 pics . 313C , 315 F 2PN/ DP , 317 F2PN / DP , 315 2PN / DP . All plc used micro memory card . How to take the back up of these micro memory cards . I have Siemens pg . I saved the project and retrieve . But how to take the backup of user program .im new to Siemens. In case any one of mmc got corrupted what precautions I need to do to avoid plant down . ;)

If your Siemens PG has a memory card slot for Siemens MMC cards (not the same as MMC/SD card slots !!) then you can read the content from the MMC card in Simatic Manager. Unless you are sure that the card slot is for Siemens MMC cards, then do not insert the card as it can be damaged.
If the card slot is for Siemens MMC cards, then in Simatic Manager use the function File ... S7 Memory Card ... Open. Then copy-paste from the memory card to an empty project.

Of course, the proper way to create backups is to archive the source programs, not the flash cards. Notice you wrote you saved the project and retrieved. You shall use the File ... Archive function to make backups.

Hi sir as u mentioned I have the Siemens M2 pg with mmc slot . I'm new to Siemens . So inside the Siemens mmc card the project only there . In case my mmc card corrupted from my pg back up I can able to recover the system .

What is the difference between user program and project . Now my system running condition so I can’t able to remove mmc card . Need ur advice to gain my knowledge

The MMC card will contain the System Data Block (i.e. the hardware configuration), code blocks and data blocks.

Instead of copying the MMC card, start a new empty project and perfom an Upload to PG. The archive the uploaded project. It will achieve the same as copying the MMC and is easier.

The uploaded project will be a rudimentary hardware configuration, and the code and data blocks will be without comments and symbols.