SLC 5/05 Communication Timeout Problems?

misterturbo

Hi Guys,

Was wondering if someone would be able to shed some insight into a problem I have.

Hardware wise I am running a SLC 5/05 processor using ethernet.

I have a program (water treatment system) I have created under RSLogix 500 6.2 and an HMI application running under RSView ME 5.0 CPR 9.. I also am running a simulation program which has been created with RSView32 Works which I use to test the main program.

I have been encountering a communication problem with this setup. It seems the ssytem can't seem to handle the bandwidth/traffic with these three programs operating. I have had multiple successful experiences with running ControlLogix processors many times using this setup (using RSLogix 5000 instead of RSLogix 500 of course) and this is my first time using a SLC.

What happens is, going online with the processor only gives no problem. Even going online and also running ONE of the other programs, RSViewME or RSView32 works with no problems. The problem happens with I run all three applications at once then I start getting problems.

RSView32 will start losing communication, ie. graphics will go blank and will say that tags are in error, also RSLINX will say STATUS ERR$5 for the tags.. RSViewME will do the same, losing graphics and saying that it lost communication with the PLC at address xxx.xxx.xx.xx and sometimes RSLogix 500 will go Offline.

Note that I am using 2 computers, 1 for the simulation and the other for the other software. I have also tried using 3 computers and 1 computer too..

So it only seems to happen when the network traffic gets too high. I look at the network statistics in Windows for the adapter and they don't seem to high, or perhaps they are too high for a SLC processor? Like 5Kb/sec on one and 4Kb/sec on the other.