stumped with devicenet

PLC_NEWBIE

To make a long story short, my company purchase a used conveyor loop, which i seen running 2 months previous. The loop arrived was set-up and commissioned. After 3 people tried to get it running, the task was lastly given to me. After a week of frustration, the system(loop), is partially running.

The system contains 15 nodes on devicenet which contain nordac device modules, holijeron modules, and a compact scanner card. I seem to get all the nodes visible (looking online with rsnetworx for devicenet and rslinx), but some of the modules are not acting like they are communicating with the master(scanner card). The whole system is set at 500k baud and each node is set with dips. The system contains all three devicenet cable types(thick, thin and flat) and there are terminating resistors on both ends.

I'm fairly new with devicenet and rsnetworx for devicenet.

What is the correct procedure to commission a network?

THe system seems to flake out and a node goes bad, i fix it, then 3 more nodes go bad. I'm thinking that im downloading, uploading, and doing my network setups in the wrong order and i keep downloading over my working network.

If its flaky at 500k baud maybe putting it down to 125k baud work help with this?

I have a devicenet media checker, but it seems like it will only work with on media at a time, but i have all three types of media.

I'm at the point where im going to call rockwell and get help.

I've printed out manuals, and read but unless a person if real experienced it doesnt help to much when i dont know the language.

MY eds files are all updated, and my linx is updated.

I'm at a loss, any help would be appreciated.

It has been a while since I dealt with DNET but see if this helps: http://www.odva.org/Portals/0/Library/Publications_NotNumbered/DeviceNet_Troubleshooting_by_Robert_D_Law.pdf