computer programming langauges Slightly (OT)

dlmidget

I want to venture into the world of computer based programming. I am a rookie engineering tech. I understand ladder logic in plcs but know nothing of script stlye programming like BASIC FORTRAN or C. I am hoping you guys know which style I should plan to tackle first and maybe which ones I would possibly see the most. I beleive VB is very common but am not sure that is the best place to start.

Just looking for a good starting point.

I think any type of BASIC would be good. VB or VB.net will be the most common classes you could take to get started. Another good thing to learn would be VBA (visual basic for applications) and VB script. VBA is often used in Excel and Access for macros and some HMI's will use this for advanced functions. VB script is starting to be popular in the Siemens HMI world. Still others will use C++ or some type of C for these functions. Most college programming will start with basic and move up to C++.

FORTRAN is essentially dead, so that's not a starting point :)

Visual Basic, VB.Net, Java, and C# would probably be the best programming languages to begin with. They are all fairly easy to program in, and will get you in the hang of structuring programs, without having to manage memory or deal with more esoteric concepts.

For most programs, they will all work fine. If lower level programming is required, or some fancier stuff, move to C++.

If you do go to C++, get a good RECENT book on it (one that covers in depth the Standard Template Library (STL)).

VB.net is a good place too start.

rdrast said:
FORTRAN is essentially dead, so that's not a starting point :)

For PCs yes (never was a factor) but for minis or mainframes its still heavily used. Decades of routines developed, refined and debugged represents a wealth of code that is used time and time again. Cobol too.