PanelView 600 - PLC5 Question

zman515

I am a student working on a school project and I am really new to both the PLC programming and PanelView so excuse me if this is a dumb question.

I am trying to display the status of the PLC program on the PanelView screen. For example, when an input or output is reached in the PLC program, I am trying to display that on the PanelView.

So here are my questions.

If I have an output at an address like O10:15/6 what is the best way to set up a PanelView screen in Panelbuilder to recognize that address? Should I use a multi-state indicator for each output or one multi-state indicator for many outputs. What if the outputs could be displayed across many screens? Does anything change?

Let me know if I left out any information that you would need to know to assist me.

Thanks in advance.

I've never done a PV w/ the PLC5 but I've done many with the SLC line.

For real applications, I generally like to use a separate Bit file for Display bits on the panelview. I would use the B13 file.

Then, for instance, I would copy the state of the Outputs to a word in the Bit file and display it there. You can copy a bit at a time using rungs like:

O:1/0 B13:1/0
----] [-----------------( )---

This rungwise copy is generally better for indications of physical states wehre you might want to have other conditions present. For instance, to indicate a cylinder is extended you might have the extend limit switch, but also the shop air present indication to make sure it is also under pressure.

Or, for displaying raw outputs I would usually copy a word at a time:

--------------------------+---MOV--------+
|SRC O:1.0 |
|DEST B14:1 |
+--------------+

I'm not sure of the PLC/5 instruction set MOV works the same as I've never used it.