Beckhoff Twincat EL5101 to measure speed with Heidenhain Incremental Encoder

Sohaib28

Dear Members:

I am new in Beckhoff Twincat system. I am working on a project. I am using CX9020 as my embedded PC. I have connected EL5101 as incremental encoder interface with CX9020. I was able to find EL5101 in my system manager. The operation mode is Free Run/SM-Synchron and EL5101 is in OP mode. The power and the run LED is green. I have also configured the NC-configurations. I have Append Axis and then selected Encoder Axis in the types. In my Axis_Enc I have linked NC-Encoder with EL5101. Now the EL5101 ENC Status compact inputs and ENC Control compact outputs are now linked to variables in the Axis_Enc in the NC-Cofigurations.

Now I don’t know what to do next. I have not connected Heidenhain incremental encoder ERN 460 with my EL5101. I have 3 different input terminals
AA’,BB’,CC’ and also Latch 24V and Gate 24V in my EL5101. The incremental encoder also have 3 types of output wires AA’,BB’,CC’. Also the incremental signal of my ERN 460 is 5V TTL.
I want to know do I need to connect all the output wires of encoder AA’ BB’ CC’ to their corresponding terminal in the EL5101? What about Latch 24V and Gate 24V? What I have to do with these terminals?

Is there any sample program or any step by step guide that how can I measure rpm through this setup? What kind of variables and data type I have to define in my PLC Control and to which physical input and outputs I have to link them? Is there any high speed counter in Twincat PLC Control and How can I get it?

Please reply. I shall be very thankful to you.

I want to know do I need to connect all the output wires of encoder AA’ BB’ CC’ to their corresponding terminal in the EL5101?
Yes. Don't forget the 24VDC power to the encoder of course.
What about Latch 24V and Gate 24V? What I have to do with these terminals?