What are the hadware components requried

Rehu09

Hi all,

I'm upgrading my plc from SLC 5/03 to SLC 5/05, what are the hardware requirements are required. Right now it has processor, io modules and 3 stepper modules.
I got a project to upgrade from slc 5/03 to slc 5/05 and upgrade hmi screen which is panel view 550 now I have to upgrade it to panel view plus 700.
I'm thinking I required processor SLC 5/05, Rail Switch, Panel View plus 700 hmi. I'm not sure do I require Device net to connect this stepper module?

Your help is really appreciable. Thank you guys.
I'm very new to this industry even I doenst know how to work with factory talk view and download the screen to panel view plus 700

I would bring in the local distributor in and see what they recommend
One option is leave the SCL rack in place and make it a remote rack using the original hardware.
Without knowing the details of the project it would be hard to recommend anything
there are so many ways to get the same result.

SLC to SLC may not be an upgrade

Hi all,

I'm upgrading my plc from SLC 5/03 to SLC 5/05, what are the hardware requirements are required. Right now it has processor, io modules and 3 stepper modules.
I got a project to upgrade from slc 5/03 to slc 5/05 and upgrade hmi screen which is panel view 550 now I have to upgrade it to panel view plus 700.
I'm thinking I required processor SLC 5/05, Rail Switch, Panel View plus 700 hmi. I'm not sure do I require Device net to connect this stepper module?

Your help is really appreciable. Thank you guys.
I'm very new to this industry even I doenst know how to work with factory talk view and download the screen to panel view plus 700

Although you may achieve a few functionality enhancement tools with a 5/05, why not pull the trigger on true upgrade. Don't want to Be a continual "Debbie-Downer" , but it is the best interests for all, that hardware and labor effort monies are spent on current technologies.

Best Regards,

Plastic

From AB web-site: