Career Advice

Hi Everyone,

I am looking for some career advice. I work as a plant electrician at a municipal water plant. I also do some very basic programming and troubleshooting on AB PLCs and SCADA systems. I am starting to learn more about PLC programming and really enjoy it. I am taking classes on the side. I am pretty young and have at least 30 more years left in my career. To be very frank, I make in the high $50,000 dollar range with about $6,000 a year in overtime, plus very good benefits. But I am pretty much topped out.

From a purely financial standpoint would it be worth going back to school and making a career jump? I actually enjoy working on PLC problems more then pulling wire and running conduit. But I want to be fully informed before I start investing a lot of time in courses.

Most job postings do not list wages and I really have no clue what a entry level automation engineer/ plc programmer makes.

Thanks for you time.

I'm interested in the same. I started out as a plant electrician during my first year of Mechatronics.

Now I almost exclusively do machine control, instrumentation, PLC and communications work (lots of ethernet/IP these days and plants are starting to want everything networked).

I work at a small plant and make in the same range as you.

Being able to build AND program is a pretty great skill. Throw extensive computer knowledge and networking skills and HMI programming in the mix and you make yourself a pretty damn good candidate.

From what I have seen though, typically yearly earnings range in 70-100K depending on what you are doing, who you are working for, what your credentials are, etc. There are a ton of varying factors.

Most job postings do not list wages and I really have no clue what a entry level automation engineer/ plc programmer makes.