general career advice

unsaint32

I am seeking an entry level automation technician job. I was a construction electrician, but after taking some PLC, instrumentation, hydraulic, instrumentation classes at a local college, I just knew that was my calling.

Much to my surprise, I am getting interviews from two companies next week.

Company A manufactures plumbing material. This company seems very socially conscious and was voted as #20 best companies to work for in my state. The job is a night shift. At the age of 40, I am not thrilled about working at night and sleeping during the day. But I think I can manage it.

Company B processes water all over the world. The job is 70% on the road. but I don't mind traveling.

Both jobs look for PLC and HMI skills. The official title of the company A job is "maintenance automation technician." The company B's job is "control technician."

I am trying to decide which job I should take if I get both offers. The pay is about the same and pay is not my concern any way. I know my job description is too brief.

I guess I am seeking a general career advice for someone who is aspired to becoming a successful automation process control technician in the future.

Any advice would be appreciated.

take whatever job feels right to you. you need some experience before you figure out what you want to do. the field you are describing is very broad. do you want to troubleshoot and repair equipment? design and build? setup and commission? manage projects?