PLC that uses labview as language

umlphysics

I am relatively new to the PLC world, my company is looking for a PLC that uses Labview as its programming language or something that labview can be configured to work with. We want labview cause we are a student research facility and it will be much easier to understand the program in the PLC since we use Labview for countless other projects and measurements.

Any information would be greatly appreciated!!

Thanks,
~Dan

Dan,

...it will be much easier to understand the program in the PLC since we use Labview for countless other projects and measurements.
That is a debatable statement. For me it would not be true. If these students will be working in various workplaces, it might be wise to teach them some PLC programmming, as well as Labview. Who knows how long any particular language will be viable? Software changes as hardware gets upgraded.

I don't know of any PLC that is directly programmable using Labview. However, there are interface program methods that will allow Labview to be used with any PLC. National Instruments (the creator of Labview) uses OPC to work with many PLCs. That does not mean it will be simple or easy for students.

http://zone.ni.com/wv/app/doc/p/id/wv-263

Kepware OPC is another option. See this post at:

http://www.control.com/thread/1026243789

Posted by Fred Loveless on 22 February, 2008 - 4:59 pmIt really depends on which version of Labview you are using. 8.5 includes an NI OPC server and has a very nice OPC connection configuration. Older versions will require you to create and OPC or DDE data socket to connect to the server.

Your best option is to go to the NI forums for Lab view. There will be a Labview expert that can provide a VI for either option in the older versions.