AB PLC time sync

fullanitox

Hi, I need to synchronize a PLC but I have no experience with this. I would like to know which are the common alternatives to achieve this and what is the best option for a PLC that controls the followers in a photovoltaic solar plant?
Thanks!.

Welcome to the PLCTalk forum community !

What model of A-B logic controller are you using ? How are they networked ?

Are these small controllers that control one solar panel frame each, or a larger controller that controls many follower mechanisms ?

Do you have any sort of HMI (PC or hardware based) that gets an accurate time value from an Internet or other reliable time server ?

There are several ways to set PLC time clocks, including a software utility that runs on an HMI or server computer, or a high-precision ControlLogix module, or some roll-your-own clock data setting logic.

Hi sorry for the late reply and thank you!. We have a CompactLogix L35e PLC installed in a photovoltaic solar plant that loses synchronization in case of a power outage causing trackers not to follow the sun according to the time of day. When the electric power returns, the PLC starts from the time that the electricity was lost. The BAT LED of the PLC remains off indicating that the battery is in good state. My doubt is that if the battery is in optimal conditions then the RTC of the PLC should not continue counting regardless of the power outage. Should i install a UPS?

How i can sync the this PLC?

Another question I have, is the same a GPS module as an NTP server?

Allen-Bradley has a free program that can run on a PC or server using the Lite version of RSLinx that will keep your PLC synced to that PC. You can schedule it to sync as often as you want.

A UPS is always a good idea. But get a battery-less type. Panduit makes a nice one they put in their networking cabinets.

The Reynolds company make a CompactLogix GPS module that would give time time as well.