Manufacturing Test Lab Controls Set-Up

nikkih

I recently moved from a wastewater facility that used AB PLCs and was in the process of switching from Wonderware to Ignition for SCADA. I'm currently in a manufacturing test lab that is looking to integrate PLC control, but currently has nothing. Everything is manually controlled and test results are taken by hand.

I'm a technician, with very little experience in programming, though I will be going to several different training courses once we decide what direction we're going. I will also have several of the manufacturing engineers available to assist me as I'm getting started.

Currently I'm trying to compare my hardware and software options, and am kind of stuck. We've looked at HBM eDAQ and QuantumX data acquisition hardware and will likely be using either multiple CompactLogix or a single ControlLogix PLC for controls.

I guess I'm just looking to see what is typical in this setting. Because the lab currently has nothing, the folks here don't really have the knowledge of what is needed. I would love to be able to do what we need on a ControlLogix PLC with Ignition, but that's because I'm familiar with it. I don't want to go down the path of what I know if I'm overlooking something big because it's a new environment.

Thanks!

The only reason not to do CLX and Ignition for this would be price, although your experience with CLX and Ignition (and inexperience with other solutions) should be factored into the cost of any other solution.

Can you afford CLX and Ignition? If so, lock it in and start tomorrow, rather than wasting time trying to hunt down hardware costs from suppliers. Just don't tell your dealer that you're not looking elsewhere ;-) The sooner it is up and running, the sooner you're making money!

Welcome to the forum!