Need to connect 60 pressure sensors to a PLC

dbaid

Hi all,
I am new to PLC's and need to connect 60 pressure sensors to a PLC.
Also the data from the sensors needs to be sent to a central location so the PLC needs to be connected to a cellular connection and also a GPS module.
Can any one suggest a solution.
Also how will I have to power the sensors or does the PLC power the sensors.

Thankyou.

Personally, I would consider an ASi bus system, this is a two wire, addressed system where the same two wires supply the sensors as well as take info from them. Have a look at GOOGLE, there are many automation companies that manufacture such systems with a lot of information on their implementation.

Steve

Unless you need the PLC to do some other functions, you're overbuying.

There are multichannel analog I/O modules that convert the analog pressure to Modbus, for example. When you have to ship the data out wirelessly it ends up being in some digital protocol, so why not convert to the protocol immediately?

I know Acromag has multichannel I/O, Opto 22 probably does, and there must be dozens of other vendors.

Industrial pressure transmitters are typically two wire 4-20mA, sometimes 3 wire 1-5Vdc. Either requires a DC power supply, typically 24Vdc. There's 33% less wiring with 2 wire than 3 wire. You need AC power to power the DC power supply. I NEVER use the PLC power supply to power the field devices. I ALWAYS use a separate, stand-alone DC power supply. The better DC power supplies can be paralleled for redundant performance.

Thank you very much Danw,Nehpets.

Can u elaborate a little on the ASI bus and;

what does "The better DC power supplies can be paralleled for redundant performance." mean

Mine are two wire sensors.

What PLC's can I use?