RS5000 PID Instruction Assistance

knight1fox3

Hello All,

Let me first start out by saying this is a great forum. I've found a lot of useful information on this forum and am glad to have found it.

Now to the point. I am working on an application involving a CompactLogix PLC, proportional hydraulic valve (analog +/-10VDC), and an analog pressure switch (4-20mA). There are two additional proportional valves which, based on their position, will demand pressure from the main prop. valve accordingly. I would like to control the main prop. valve with a PID instruction in RSLogix5000. Being an elec. engineer, I am pretty familiar with the in depth analysis of PIDs that I learned in school. However, I am not too experienced in using a ladder logic PID for a real-world application. That said, I've attached a PDF of what I think the PID controller should be configured like in addition to part of my code with the PID integrated in it. I found some great pointers for a good start at the following thread. I am basically looking to see if I have my PID instruction and ladder logic control configured correctly. Any assistance/comments/suggestions with this would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance. (y) Let me know if I need to provide any additional information or answer any specific questions.

Greetings knight1fox3 ...

rather than a PDF file (which I'm having some trouble opening) can you ZIP and post the complete ACD project file instead? ... that will probably give us more information - and help us give you more detailed answers ...

and welcome to the forum ...

I'm not a big AB PID user, but everything looks right to me. I question your 0.25 sec update time. That seems pretty slow for a hydraulic system unless you have alot of accumulation relative to your flow.