Looking for a little help please

n8dc

Im new to A/B contollers and im working on a program for a drilling machine. I was told I could use the move command to count from one station to another on a rotary table. I need to check the height of a part and if it fails then I need to count the stations till it gets to a bad part pick off station. Im using a micrologix 1200. The problem im having is i can move the data but it doesnt seem to stay in the n file? It goes on 0 to 1 then right back off and nothing is retained? I hope i explained this good enough. Hell i cant even hardly explain it to myself! Oh ya i will use an input for the bad part and there is a prox on the rotary table that goes on when the table is locked in position so that could be used for counting..
TIA
Dave

Dave,

Are you just looking to mark this part as good or bad?? If so you could use a shift register for this, (BSL or BSR). If each part has more information than good or bad associated with it then you could use a Fifo Load instruction, (FFL). As long as you have a definte way to tell when the table moves each time it should be pretty simple to implement.

On a bit shift you need to know how many stations that you have before the reject station and then which stations make a determination as to a good or bad part, and then trigger the bit shift every time the table shifts.

Read the help menus on some of those instructions and see if that helps any.

BL

There are a lot of ways to do this, but you're basically going to need as many words as there are nests (or fixtures) on the dial to "track" the status of the part in each nest.

Let's say there are six nests. Usually, you label each nest on the dial and then keep track of where that nest is after each index. When the dial home switch is made, that's usually when Nest 1 is at Station 1, Nest 2 is at Station 2, etc. Now, on the next index, Nest 6 is at Station 1, Nest 1 is at Station 2, ...