You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 8th, 2017, 01:03 PM   #1
jrsnydley
Member
United States

jrsnydley is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 103
PowerFlex 70 Monitor DigIn Values Over Network?

Hello everyone, I have a PowerFlex 70 that is controlled by a 1756-L73 controller via a 1756-DNB and 20-COMM-D module. DigIn 1 Sel (parameter 361) is set to "1 - Enable" The 24VDC comes from the drive, through a pull cord, and back up to terminal 1 on the drive. I would like to monitor the value of DigIn 1. I am wondering if there is a way to do this over the network or if I would have to wire it up separately to a 1756-IB16I.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2017, 02:14 PM   #2
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 13,717
This should be relatively easy.

On the PowerFlex 70, Parameter 216 is the raw values of the Digital Inputs.

You can add that to a DataLink, which will require a re-configuration of the I/O connection and re-mapping in the 1756-DNB scanlist.

Or, you can send Explicit Messages to the Parameter object in ladder logic.

This would be a "Parameter Read", which is Service 0x0E hex (Get Attribute Single), Class 0x0F hex(Parameter), Instance 216 decimal (Digital Inputs), Attribute 0x01 (Value). The MSG block will gray out everything but the Instance field when you select "Parameter Read" as the service.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2017, 07:04 AM   #3
jrsnydley
Member
United States

jrsnydley is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 103
Thanks Ken, I figured I could use datalinks but I could not find which parameter to use.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Powerflex 70 decel rate in 2 wire control spice_miner LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 August 19th, 2014 02:40 PM
RSLogix 5000 Fatal error when adding a Powerflex 70 Enet steveb1475 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 January 27th, 2011 05:15 PM
OT: PowerFlex 70 Torque Variation kamenges LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 27 April 9th, 2010 01:13 PM
Configuring and controlling a PowerFlex 70. pranesh3994 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 March 17th, 2010 09:07 PM
SLC BTR/BTW to Powerflex 70 Troubles - Suggestions Please... robertmee LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 May 9th, 2008 07:24 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:38 PM.


.