Machine won't start after problem

Johanna

Conc.: A control mechanism (eye) tells the PLC - with the aid of a timer - whether or not goods have passed within 8 sec.
If not, machine must stop.

Hello,
First of all I must tell you I'm a newbie big-time.
Am in the process of learning: Siemens, Simatic/Step5, version 7.2
A neighbour of mine is building a machine.
He knew I was (am) making programs with Paradox/Object Pal.
So he asked me whether or not I could help him with above mentioned program.
Well, it's a new challenge, so I said I would give it a try.
Secondly I must say I am a self-taught programmer, never had a technical education of a computerprogramming education for that matter

To test things my neighbour put together a "machine".
He installed (amongst other things) the following PLC:
Simatic S5 100U, CPU102.

Ok, well here's my problem:
Machine does stop when no goods have passed the installed eye.
All the outputs (relays) are reset.
All the flags are reset (as far as I can tell).
I now push on the Start-button:
-test mode/PC monitor shows zero's changing into one(1), as should be.
-the actual relays do NOT react, stay zero. :confused:

Two days now I've been trying to solve this, but nothings I do changes anything.
Must be overlooking something, but ran out of ideas.
So I hope one of you has the time to point me in the right direction.

Thanks in advance.
Johanna.

PS. Shall try to enclose what I've made so far (don't know if I've explained enough).

Check the outputs that turn on the relays, you may have a weak output. S5 is older so this may be a used plc which makes the above likely. MAINLY verify that your outputs are enabled then check the voltage output from the card if it is.

Double/triple check your code to make sure your arent setting a bit that will block outputs from coming on.

Thank you for your reply.