Siemens STL & Language Issues

Zombo

I have been working with Siemens PLCs, Drives and HMI for many, many years. Currently I am installing a machine in the USA that was originally made in Germany back in the late 1980s which I am ashamed to admit that I was there at startup as a newbie engineer for a couple of days.

I have been translating German to English symbols and descriptions plus dealing with the STL logic being thrown in here and there. Frankly I have have hit a mental road block with the STL. It maybe that I have lost my mind or totally lost my mind. Can anybody please look at the attached logic and explain to me why memory bit M0.3 isn't turning on in the rest of the PLC logic.

STL_2.jpg

The picture is quite low resolution, is there any chance you can take one that is a bit sharper?

I have a hard time reading the text.

There is a DI (I2.5, Button Control On), that should turn on M0.3 (Control On).

The line with ON "22 S7" is always true, which always resets M 0.3 (line with R M 0.3).
That is probably an N.C. contact. So M0.3 is only reset when the button is pressed.

The code seems to me to be startup of the control system.
There is a timedelay (which does not work since programmed wrong), and when when startbutton is pressed and there is no e-stop, then the power-on bit (M0.3) is set, and the contactor 33_K2 is turned on.
There is also a lamp which is turned on if the power-on bit is set or the lamp-test button is pressed.

IMO there is an infatuation by some people with STL. If they can write code in STL they must be really smart. But appearantly not smart enough to spot a simple error.

This code:
Code:
      AN    M      0.2
      SD    T      1
      L     S5T#5S
      S     M      0.2

Should be:
Code:
      AN    M      0.2
      L     S5T#5S
      SD    T      1
      A     T      1
      S     M      0.2