You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 5th, 2018, 06:11 AM   #1
cardosocea
Member
United Kingdom

cardosocea is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Fields of corn
Posts: 1,021
Any way to power a CLX without AB power supplies?

I'm on an upgrade project now and the panel receives one Mains power and one UPS Power.

Considering this, I was thinking of putting two 24V Power supplies in parallel with a Diode Unit and create a redundant 24V power rail to power the CPU, IO block and network Switch.
But it seems like Control Logix doesn't have the option of providing 24V to the rack, all I find is a redundant Power Supply topology that will only power the rack and nothing else.

Anyone dealt with this in the past?
  Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2018, 06:49 AM   #2
jstolaruk
Member
United States

jstolaruk is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Detroit, SE Michigan
Posts: 3,242
I believe there is a 5V supply in the backplane that you also have to take into consideration.
__________________
"You can live to be a hundred if you give up all the things that make you want to live to be a hundred." Woody Allen
  Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2018, 07:11 AM   #3
JohnCalderwood
Member
Scotland

JohnCalderwood is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Stirling
Posts: 596
From the manual, it says:

Quote:
ControlLogix® power supplies are used with the 1756 chassis to provide 1.2V, 3.3V, 5V, and 24V DC power directly to
the chassis backplane. Standard, Slim, ControlLogix-XT™, and redundant power supplies are available.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2018, 09:19 AM   #4
cardosocea
Member
United Kingdom

cardosocea is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Fields of corn
Posts: 1,021
Thanks guys.
I think I needed a step out of the Siemens shell. The part I am looking for is a 24V power supply from Rockwell... meaning something that takes in 24V and creates everything else.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2018, 09:27 AM   #5
JohnCalderwood
Member
Scotland

JohnCalderwood is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Stirling
Posts: 596
so....

is it something like this?

https://www.routeco.com/en-gb/shop/p...gix/1756-par2k

the 1756-par2k bundle appears to be 2 power supplies, cables and a plate that bolts on to the CLX rack.

never used it before....

(original one I quoted was the high temperature one...edited the part number now)

Last edited by JohnCalderwood; January 5th, 2018 at 09:36 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2018, 09:39 AM   #6
cardosocea
Member
United Kingdom

cardosocea is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Fields of corn
Posts: 1,021
No, a part number that will do is 1756-PB72. This will take in 24Vdc and create the required voltages in the bus for the rack.

The 24Vdc for this PSU, can then be fed from an arrangement of two 240Vac->24Vdc supplies and a diode unit in between.

The confusion is that with Siemens, 24V go in directly to the PLC and I wasn't considering that I needed a power supply part number for the creation of all the other voltages... a brain **** basically.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2018, 09:49 AM   #7
JohnCalderwood
Member
Scotland

JohnCalderwood is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Stirling
Posts: 596
fair enuff...

the CLX power supplies (1756-PXYY) can be AC (X=A) or DC (X=B) supplied, with different current ratings (Y=50/72/75)

but they also do the redundant kit for you too...with the PSUs, cables and connector to chassis (didn't know they had options for that, mind you...)
  Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2018, 09:55 AM   #8
Geospark
Lifetime Supporting Member
Ireland

Geospark is offline
 
Geospark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kildare
Posts: 2,385
Quote:
Originally Posted by cardosocea
No, a part number that will do is 1756-PB72...
But that is just a single power supply. As John mentions, there are kit catalog numbers which contain everything you need.

For instance,

The 1756-PBR2 redundancy kit is the DC supplied version which included 2 x 1756-PB75R DC power supplies, 2 x 1756-CPR2 cables, and 1 x 1756-PSCA2 Chassis Adapter...

19828 - ControlLogix Redundant Power Supply Information (1756-PAR2 , 1756-PSCA2)
Access Level: TechConnect

Regards,
George
__________________
"A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men".
  Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2018, 10:03 AM   #9
harryting
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

harryting is offline
 
harryting's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Puget Sound
Posts: 1,843
http://literature.rockwellautomation...g001_-en-p.pdf

Page 34, list all the redundant power supplies
  Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2018, 10:04 AM   #10
JRW
Member
United States

JRW is offline
 
JRW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Upstate South Cackalacky
Posts: 1,673
You in the AB world now...
grab that wallet

Sorry
I couldn’t resist
  Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2018, 10:19 AM   #11
cardosocea
Member
United Kingdom

cardosocea is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Fields of corn
Posts: 1,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geospark View Post
But that is just a single power supply. As John mentions, there are kit catalog numbers which contain everything you need.
I have a CLX Rack, couple of Flex IO nodes and a network switch that I want to power.
I have 240Vac Mains and 240Vac UPS Supply.

I can put a redundant PSU from Rockwell on the rack or as they advertise, but those two power supplies will power the rack only.

So if I want the network switch and the remote IO nodes powered from both supplies, I have to get yet another set of PSU's from Phoenix or wherever and a diode in between them.

Instead of 4 PSU's a diode unit, special rack and cabling from Rockwell, I can get away with 3 PSU's and a diode unit.

Edit:

One other consideration, only one of those PSU's will be from Rockwell... which will definitely ease the wallet side of things.

Last edited by cardosocea; January 5th, 2018 at 10:26 AM. Reason: Another cost consideration
  Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2018, 03:32 PM   #12
Mike Lamond
Member
United States

Mike Lamond is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by cardosocea View Post
Instead of 4 PSU's a diode unit, special rack and cabling from Rockwell, I can get away with 3 PSU's and a diode unit.

Edit:

One other consideration, only one of those PSU's will be from Rockwell... which will definitely ease the wallet side of things.
That's how my last two ControlLogix systems were built, using redundant Phoenix power supplies and the diode module. Part of this is driven by arc flash protection and voltage separation requirements. The first system had two power supply enclosures, each with a Phoenix 40 amp power supply and fed from separate 120vac circuits, and a distribution enclosure to feed the redundant PLC and I/O distributed across nine enclosures. Total load is about 22 amps at 24vdc.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Confusion regarding power supply rating for CompactLogix Salman S. LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 March 7th, 2017 05:07 PM
Power a AB Powerflex 40 VFD from a Roto-phase? sbaum LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 November 8th, 2011 07:51 PM
AB CLX controller communicating with S7 dmbartender LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 March 25th, 2009 07:05 AM
AB Charging to fix "bricked" CLX dougrb LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 24 May 9th, 2006 06:23 PM
DC Power Supplies Rookie_Engineer LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 April 29th, 2003 03:29 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:03 AM.


.