RSLogix: Multiple Machine Support

GBrinkworth

I admit I'm new to PLC's and RSLogix in particular. I come from a real-time software control back-ground and I admit I dont like RSLogix one little bit, but hey!, the customers want them.

The question I have is this. We have built a prototype machine, and the customer seems very happy. If tests back this up, then they will be buying many more identical machines. These machine will be near enough electrically and mechanically identical.... can I make the software identical?, and if so how?.

For example
* I will want a different ip address
* I may have a slighly different datum/home offsets
* Other "things" may be slightly different.

RSLogix does not separate data from code within memory.... its just one block. I could have different programs for different machines, but what happens when I want to make an enhancement (or bug... God forbid). I could probably cut and paste for three of four programs, but more.... no thanks.

RSLogix is the software used to program the Allen Bradely PLCs. The program is downloaded to the PLC, and the PLC does, indeed, have different You can separate "data" (registers) from "code" (ladder logic) by configuring the program properly. If you set your logic to use registers (like N:10) for things like setpoints or compares instead of writi9ng a constant into the ladder logic you will enhance the flexibility.

The IP address will have to be individually set for each processor when the program is downloaded or the CPU is configured.

One of the "features" of RSLogix is that a memory file of the current register contents is saved to disk with the program and downloaded with the program logic to the PLC. Unless you are very careful you will overwrite the setpoints etc. when you download and you will have to adjust them.

PLCs are less flexible than the PCs you seem more familiar with. That is a strength - more robust operation - but also a weakness. You will have to keep very very good records.