RSLogix 5 data cross referencing

ptine

I'm fairly new at this programming with Rslogix5. I'm having a problem chasing some data in a program @ work. I'll try to give as many details as I possibly can. We are running 5/40s on DH+. I have a bit (N18:22/7) that is being messaged from one node (sub 3)to another node (central). It arrives @ central as N15:22/7 but is copied to N20:201/7 as well as N22:201/7. My problem is that when I tried to find out where it went after it arrived (MSG) to central I came up empty. I tried cross referencing and find N15:22/7 but I came up with nothing. Central MSGs this data to a VAX where it is manipulated for the control room. What I'm trying to find out is how do I find a word, bit ect. when it is messaged to another node and then copied into another location before it is messaged out of the program again. Thanks.

Look in your cross reference for any instructions that work with the word, N15:22, or any instructions that deal with files that would encompass N15:22. If you can, do a screen capture of the cross refence for anything dealing with N15, post it here, and we may be able to show you.

If absolutely nothing in the PLC is manipulating that address, then it may be nothing but a memory location that the VAX comes down and reads.

Where the problem lies is that I have a bit that is being messaged into another node and into a data file (N15:22/7). This bit is not being manipulated in central. Central MSGes #N15:13 length = 12 to the VAX. This is what makes it difficult to find it in central's program. It only is handled in the indexed address of the MSG command and in the indexed address of the copy command. I sort of knew where it was going so I hunted it down manually. What I am trying to do is figure out a method to find out where it is being moved throughout the program when it is only being copied or MSGed out ect.