PLC's and Automation Safety

Nismo_4

I'm a college student doing research on PLC's. I'm trying to find out if PLC's have improved safety standards under hazardous working conditions. From the research I have done so far, I see the only advantage PLC's have over relay logic is the ease of reprogramming processes instead of rewiring relays. What was plant safety like before PLC's?

It's going to be tough to get a definitive answer on that. The implementation of automation, including PLCs, has been concurrent with the implementation of OSHA and similar safety regulations, increased safety education, more strident union activity, reduced staffing, and similar trends that affect safety.

Anecdotally I would feel confident in saying that PLCs have improved safety. They eliminate operator entry to hazardous locations in many cases, they make the incorporation of additional safety precautions economical, and they have reduced the number of boring repetitive jobs that lead to operator inattention.

I don't think PLCs by themselves actually make the workplace safer. I have seen some shocking places fully PLC automated. On the other hand, one of our plants is well guarded, correctly isolatable, and has all the E-stops correctly wired, but is controlled with drum controllers and relays.
As Tom stated, I think that machine safety has developed in parallel with the developing of the PLC.

From my point of view, I think that the primary driver of machine safety is attitude. In the past, factorys were accepted as dangerous places to work. That was just a part of life, and if you didn't like it you could find a job else where. Some pioneer somewhere must have questioned the assuption, so the idea developed as follows:
-Factories are dangerous places to work, accept it.
-Factories don't have to be dangeous places to work, how can we improve our safety?
-Factories should be safe places to work.
-Factories must be safe places to work, and it is your obligation to make it safe.