You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 17th, 2006, 06:38 PM   #1
edward4444
Member
United States

edward4444 is offline
 
edward4444's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 15
Dog Viewing STEP5 in Ladder logic: Software

I currently have Siemens STEP5 software (V7.2) for use with an old S5 PLC. Recently, the company purchased non-Siemens software that was supposed to give a Windows interface to the DOS-based software.

It does provide a Windows environment...however... this non-Siemens software ("PLC Workshop") is supposed to allow viewing the code in both STL and LAD.

Yet it will NOT show the code in LAD, because the original statement list code was not written in a way condusive to being shown in ladder.

The logic is capable of being expressed in ladder (at least on paper), but the software is not capable of doing so.

Is anyone aware of a software application that can translate statement list from STEP5 into ladder logic?
  Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2006, 01:46 AM   #2
ivo.maenen
Member
Belgium

ivo.maenen is offline
 
ivo.maenen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 619
Even original Siemens software will not translate all STL in LAD is the code is not 100% compatible. Sometimes you need to use 'nop 0' instructies in order to switch to LAD but then the scantime will increase. Try to program a timer in LAD, do not use the outputs and translate to STL.You will see 3x 'nop 0' for the outputs.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2006, 07:02 AM   #3
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 5,827
edward4444,


Read this post it has some good info on STL http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=21844


You may also want to look at this it is for s7's but it will give you a good idea of what you need and are looking at.
http://www2.automation.siemens.com/f...structions.doc

There is no software that will convert it, but you can pay someone too, or you can learn STL, there are a lot of people here that are very good and are willing to help you.
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, Fluke Meters, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more... all your automation needs... ((NEW)) After Market 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+ and Gateways
  Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2006, 07:52 AM   #4
edward4444
Member
United States

edward4444 is offline
 
edward4444's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 15
Smile Thanks for the answer

Thanks for the info... is a big help.
Edward
  Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2006, 08:24 AM   #5
RRobbins
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

RRobbins is offline
 
RRobbins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 405
I can do it for you. Or you can attend my presentation at the Siemens Summit in Las Vegas June 5 - 8, where I will be doing a presentation on "Migrating S5 and TI PLCs to S7". At the end I am going to show how to convert to S7 and some of how to convert STL to Ladder. If you are interested in me doing it for you, drop me an email.


http://www.sea.siemens.com/summit/home.html
  Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2006, 12:50 AM   #6
lhughes39
Member
United States

lhughes39 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 78
Pg 2000

We use PG 2000 here at work. It will translate STL to Ladder even if it is not written correctly and will not do so with Siemens software. It does not care about the "NOP 0." With that said if the instruction can not be translated from STL to Ladder, it will not do it also. Below is the link to there website.

http://www.process-informatik.de/

They have a demo that you can download from there website that will help you out. Also this software works with both S5 and S7 PLC's and is windows based. They also sell a usb cable for use with the S5.
__________________
Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new - Albert Einstein
  Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2006, 06:57 AM   #7
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 5,827
Quote:
Originally Posted by lhughes39
We use PG 2000 here at work. It will translate STL to Ladder even if it is not written correctly and will not do so with Siemens software. It does not care about the "NOP 0." With that said if the instruction can not be translated from STL to Ladder, it will not do it also. Below is the link to there website.

http://www.process-informatik.de/

They have a demo that you can download from there website that will help you out. Also this software works with both S5 and S7 PLC's and is windows based. They also sell a usb cable for use with the S5.
WOW! lhughes39 Thanks, I don't like the way it looks but thats a very good tool, I have finaly started getting used to STL but this will help on some of the big ladders, thanks again
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, Fluke Meters, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more... all your automation needs... ((NEW)) After Market 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+ and Gateways
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need a Ladder logic Algorithm for AD 260 CPU piscis LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 36 May 11th, 2006 02:46 PM
Array versus Stack Logic Solver bernie_carlton LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 January 4th, 2006 06:22 AM
ONLINE Changing ladder logic for a redundant PLC5 ckchew666 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 June 26th, 2004 10:09 AM
Ladder Logic with R S 500 Logix starter kit sridhars61 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 June 29th, 2003 05:29 PM
Ladder Logic Editor Shafiq LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 May 19th, 2003 12:44 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10 AM.


.