RS5000 PIDE w/2 TC's & SRTP???

Geared

I am setting up a heater which is much like a heat-gun, air blows through a tube with an element in it.
The response time of the heater is very fast so I am driving the heater off of a SSR.
The heater comes with 2 built in thermocouples, on the inlet and the output.
I have RS5000 Pro and want to put the outlet TC through a PIDE and a SRTP to my SSR.
I don't know what to do with the inlet T.C. (I am new to PID).
Any help would be much appreciated.

G

Quick reply

Thermocouple outlet is the Process Value, the value that is changing along with the output. The output will be your SSR which drives the heating. The incoming T.C. might be for a recir loop? Or perhaps an overtemp check?

No, this is actually a job, and I am actually an old man, I do alot of programming, just new to process control:)

So what are you trying to heat up? Are you going to recir the air? Was it designed to recir the air?

No recirc., it just blows compressed air at the product to heat it before assembly.
This is an assembly line application where the heater will be running continually.
Would the inlet T.C help with accuracy?
I have heard of a couple different contol methods; cascaded PID, and constant ratio, would either of them apply to this?

Knowing inlet air temperature might be helpful in calculating how much heater output is needed to achieve the desired output temperature. Where this differential figures into the PID equation, I have no idea... :confused:

🍻

-Eric

With the before heat and the post heat, you can preload some feed forward action if the inlet temperature is too low. Or back it off if it is too high. I've done things similiar to this when I can sense that a process will be undergoing a very abrupt change.

My 2 cents