Read RUN status from HMI

seeigecannon

Hello. I am new with PLCs, and I am working on modifying code for a non-production system with no safety implications.

We are using an Allen-Bradley Micro850 and a PanelView800. We are using Connected Components Workbench for the programming.

We have gotten burned a couple of times before with the PLC being in programming mode and not working, but the display has no indication that the PLC is not running. I have tried linking an indicator on the display to "__SYSVA_RESMODE" which indicates what state the PLC is in (and is a global variable), and is independent of the run state, but when I try to link it in the display tags it says "System Variables not supported".

I have considered copying the global system variable to a regular global, but it wouldn't be updated if the program were to stop.

Does anybody have an idea how to read system variables with a display? If somebody knows of a better workaround then I am game for that too.

Thanks for taking the time to read this.

If the HMI won't let you link a tag to a system variable, then in the PLC program copy the system variable to a variable that the HMI can access.

PLC goes to program mode, last status is maintained for that bit, display possibly lies.

You can use a heartbeat to indicate life. say a word/dword just run a add function in your PLC, so that as long as that number is changing you know your in run mode. let it hit 32000 and set it back to zero.

Hello. I am new with PLCs, and I am working on modifying code for a non-production system with no safety implications.

We are using an Allen-Bradley Micro850 and a PanelView800. We are using Connected Components Workbench for the programming.