Beckhoff vs. Allen Bradley... who is better?

lunenburger

I have been working with Allen Bradley PLC's for almost 15 years.....

There are some rumors here that we are going to start getting in some equipment with Beckhoff PLC's in them.
According to the manufacturer, the packing machines run faster with Beckhoff than they do with Allen Bradley PLC's.

We use Controllogix PLC's in the packing machines we have on site now, so I am surprised Beckhoff would be faster...

Is there any advice anyone can give me about Beckhoff PLC's??
(programming info, tech support, quirks???)

Just a thought: packing (or any) machine should not run faster or slower because of what PLC you choose, unless you're using a different kind of communication etc. If scan time is a problem, tasks need to be spread out amongst consecutive scans, or code re-written in a more efficient fashion.

Not knowing much specifically about Beckhoff but knowing plenty about marketing puffery made by the less popular PLC manufacturers I would take any claim about the speed of scan time of a PLC significantly speeding up a process with a grain of salt (unless it was something monstrously high speed)