PLC help

engrgirl

I thought I had a relatively easy PLC application, until I started programming for my first time.

The application is simple. A linear slide that moves left to right. On top, is a vertical actuator that moves up and down. The operation is to pick something up, move it up, then over, then down. Then the operation would reset itself for the next pickup.

Trying to program a Keyence KV40AR for first time. I have autoswitches on each side of the 2 cylinders. I thought that I could use those switches to signal the next step in the program, but it seems to be doing it all at once? So...I decided to use the PLC timers instead. Each operation is now timed to start one after the other - probably not the way to do it, but at least it works. Thing is, how to I get the program to repeat itself? It only works once - and that is it? Is there a funtion that will go back and start it all over again? Or perhaps reset the timers?

I have no knowledge of your PLC.
But it sounds like you need to reset your timers at the beginning of your ladder. That way the timers are always initialized at the start of each scan.

Wait, that's not right either!

Anyway you can convert your code to a .pdf and post it here?

Someone more knowledgable than I will answer

Rod

Start a counter at the end of your cycle, and increment by 1 each time the cycle completes. In your run-logic routine, compare your counter ACC to a pre-determined number of cycles, and it will be running consecutively unil that Counter has completed.

Engrgirl,

Your timer circuit can be made to be self-resetting. Add a NC bit from your last timer (or add another timer) that de-energizes (resets) the Start logic of your Cylinder Motion Control.