Data types - which to use?

simple_mind

really REALLY dumb question here...

I'm new to PLCs, and have been searching for most of the day trying to find an answer. I apologize if this has been asked here, I have searched and cannot find the post.

I'm trying to determine what data types to use for RTDs, PTs, FTs, actuated valves (assuming bool?)

RTDs are analog 4-20, so I'm guessing INT?
PTs and FTs are the same?

I hate guessing, and do not have a mentor available, so I really need some expert advice.

Thank you again, and I apologize many times over if the answer is posted here in an easily accessible place =/

edit: I failed to mention, I'm using AB RSLogix5000

Simple,

It depends on what you are going to do with the data & the level of accuracy that is required. Floating point numbers have the benefit of decimal point usage for fractional number parts. such as a temperature of 75.3 degrees. You will find that fractional number parts are more dufficult to deal with if the number is in integer format.
Assuming that PT means pressure transducer. Use a float if possible.
Assuming that FT means flow transmitter. Use a float if possible.
Assuming actuated valve means that the valve is open or closed. Use a bool.

There are some cases where simple integers will do if the accuracy of a rounded whole number is "close enough".

Integers use less memory in the PLC. Hope this helps.
BD

Oh Yeah. Welcome to the forum!

thank you very much BikerDude...the quick reply is GREATLY appreciated!

yes, sorry, FT = flow transmitter, PT = pressure.

So there isn't a strict requirement for datatype(s) for specific devices? You're saying desired precision of the data is the key(except discretes would use BOOL)

again, thank you so much. I will be posting many more dumb questions - I should have joined this forum weeks ago. Instead I have been trying to piece information together from Google and some manuals I had thrown at me from our AB reps.