You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 13th, 2021, 01:40 PM   #1
lsam
Member
United States

lsam is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Reedsburg, WI
Posts: 75
Cool Siemens S7-300 PLC software

Is there a version of Siemens software that can be used to view only the installed program logic and diagnostic buffer to determine system and bus faults. I don't necessarily want to be able to write or change a program - only view. Our machine manufacturer from Italy connected to our machine and told us that there were no faults in the PLC but the System Fault (SF) LED is on steady and the Bus Fault (BF) LED flashes on/off. So, I just want to view the PLC error log to see what is causing these LEDs to show faults.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2021, 02:03 PM   #2
DarrylR
Member
United States

DarrylR is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: illinois
Posts: 37
The SF LED is kind of generic I think. It's telling you there is a fault in the system. The BF LED is indicating an error in your network. Something like a cable or connector. Possibly address overlap.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2021, 03:18 PM   #3
lsam
Member
United States

lsam is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Reedsburg, WI
Posts: 75
I am pretty sure that there is a system and/or bus fault. But I had read somewhere that there is a diagnostic buffer (error log) in the PLC or on the SD card that can tell me what kind of fault is causing the SF and BF LEDs to do what they are doing. That's why I was trying to find the software that would allow me to read-only what is in the error log.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2021, 08:41 PM   #4
RVaughan
Member
United States

RVaughan is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 70
If the PLC has a ProfiNet port, you could hire someone to come in for a half a day and turn on the CPU's web server. Diagnostic buffer would then be readable by your favorite Internet browser.
You could also create some Variable tables to watch your I/O in the browser.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2021, 06:28 AM   #5
sigmadelta
Member
Canada

sigmadelta is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: From Canada - Living in Bulgaria
Posts: 1,774
You can download a trial of STEP 7 V5.6 here (if your PLC is S7-300/400)

https://support.industry.siemens.com...dti=0&lc=en-WW

If your PLC is S7-1200 or S7-1500 (or newer S7-300/400), you can download STEP 7 V17 here:

https://support.industry.siemens.com...dti=0&lc=en-WW
__________________
Automation Programmer
PLC / HMI / SCADA / SQL
New Systems, Modifications
System Upgrades & Conversions
Siemens EPROM & EEPROM Service
------------------------
Visit: contrologica.com
Email: info@contrologica.com
  Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2021, 08:53 AM   #6
JesperMP
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Denmark

JesperMP is offline
 
JesperMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Copenhagen.
Posts: 14,966
A couple of suggestions.

If the HMI is a Siemens Comfort panel, then it is simple to add a diagnostics viewer to the HMI program. You can then see the diagnostics buffer, hardware diagnostics etc.

The Webserver can also be used as previously mentioned. Be aware that it costs approx 220 kB on the flash card to enable the webserver.

Or, grant access to the PLC via VPN and let an expert from the outside check the diagnostics buffer and the HW diagnostics.
__________________
Jesper
See my profile interests for Q&A
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Data capture from third party device to siemens PLC S7 300 natcheappan LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 October 20th, 2014 10:53 AM
Siemens Step7 Micro/WIN software for programming an S7-200 PLC AutomationTechBrian LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 March 5th, 2014 03:41 PM
Timers in S7 300 plc Donnchadh LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 November 7th, 2008 02:28 PM
S7 300 PLC/ APPLICON CARD for SCADA configuration LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 January 4th, 2005 02:59 PM
VT510 as HMI for Siemens S7 PLC? Angel Lopez LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 October 2nd, 2003 12:09 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:36 PM.


.