New to Siemens S7......and programming

scimdarren

Hi All

I am new to this site.

I have a background in Electrical maintenance and therefore have a reasonable understanding of PLC software with regard to troubleshooting control faults etc. - I am not a programmer!
I have a new work opportunity where I have been introduced to Siemens S7 and a piece of equipment that needs a program, my peers have no knowledge of it and therefore I am somewhat 'alone'.

I have a good appreciation of Allen Bradley RS Logix but whilst familiarising myself to S7, I am struggling to grasp the concept of S7's relationship of blocks and there hierarchy- I am finding the S7 pdf files a little daunting and am wondering if there are any 'plain English' tutorials on the subject.

The project is not a large one, although it does use a lot of Analog I/O's and communication to Siemens Inverters via Profibus.

Regards

SD

The number one advice I can give you is to get a "live" PLC to learn on.
Not one that is used in the production, but one where your goofups have no consequences.

It will be better to work with the bits and bytes than to read the manuals. If you can get a "simulator" input - a bank of switches and maybe an analog 4-20 mA potentiometer or two it will be most helpful too.

JesperMP said:
It will be better to work with the bits and bytes than to read the manuals.
I agree, but it is also very true that you need to read the manuals from time to time also. I have seen too many problems which could have been prevented by reading the manuals (and sometimes it was me :oops: who made that mistake 📓 ).

Kind regards,

I agree, but it is also very true that you need to read the manuals from time to time also. I have seen too many problems which could have been prevented by reading the manuals (and sometimes it was me :oops: who made that mistake 📓 ).

Very true :ROFLMAO: But in the case of siemens read the manual at least 5 times to get some understanding!

Steve