You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old July 10th, 2019, 07:53 PM   #1
daba
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United Kingdom

daba is offline
 
daba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: uk
Posts: 4,557
Stylus for PanelView Touch... ?

I've had to do a considerable amount of "squashing" on some PanelView 1500 display screens, that I'm now concerned the touch areas are too close together for Bubba's fingers... There's no overlaps, but there's only a few pixels between buttons.

Has anyone used a stylus with the PV ?
What's the best type ?
Longevity ?

My client will accept a stylus solution, as they don't want the expense of replacing the HMI with a more modern unit that can do higher resolution than a PV.
__________________
___________________________
ControlLogix & SLC Training
a-b train ltd.
abtrain@tiscali.co.uk
www.abtrain.co.uk
tel: 07506 73 9999
nil illegitimi carborundem


  Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2019, 06:35 PM   #2
bulletin blues
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

bulletin blues is offline
 
bulletin blues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: out there
Posts: 185
Surprisingly, I find the eraser side of a pencil to work the best!
Might not work for you though, just a suggestion.
__________________
_____
  Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2019, 07:01 PM   #3
harryting
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

harryting is offline
 
harryting's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Puget Sound
Posts: 2,004
Yup, we do similar thing, tie a pencil on a string. You can probably get specialized stylus.

Keep in mind, that panelview and other industrial touchscreen are resistive so only pressure is needed so any pointy object can work.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2019, 05:23 AM   #4
drforsythe
Member
United States

drforsythe is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Metro Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 57
We use the Aberdeen stylus from Stylus Mart. https://www.stylusmart.com/

They are inexpensive so when operators abuse them it is easy to replace. They work well on our PanelViews and Touchscreen PCs.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2019, 06:44 AM   #5
Picklemon
Member
United States

Picklemon is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 25
I haven't had to use one on a regular basis, but I usually use a stylus from an ABB robot to calibrate the touch screens:
https://new.abb.com/products/3HAC035...ylus-for-sxtpu
  Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2019, 01:56 PM   #6
iraiam
Member
United States

iraiam is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Right here
Posts: 145
Yes, I use a stylus all the time on Panel View screens and almost any resistive touch screen, I buy ink pens with a pressure type stylus on the non writing end so I always have one with me. I'm sure a pencil eraser would work just fine, but I work in the food industry so pencils are not allowed on the floor.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2019, 08:13 AM   #7
daba
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United Kingdom

daba is offline
 
daba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: uk
Posts: 4,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by iraiam View Post
Yes, I use a stylus all the time on Panel View screens and almost any resistive touch screen, I buy ink pens with a pressure type stylus on the non writing end so I always have one with me. I'm sure a pencil eraser would work just fine, but I work in the food industry so pencils are not allowed on the floor.

But pens with ink in are allowed ???
__________________
___________________________
ControlLogix & SLC Training
a-b train ltd.
abtrain@tiscali.co.uk
www.abtrain.co.uk
tel: 07506 73 9999
nil illegitimi carborundem


  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PView+ 700 (Touch and Keypad) Disabling Touch? dipan LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 July 25th, 2016 09:32 AM
Why do industrial panel manufacturers use resistive touch ? JesperMP LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 18 May 9th, 2014 05:28 AM
Simalating a touvh panel with Step7 basic runtime without having a touch panel. Dreeten LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 January 28th, 2011 01:42 AM
broken Touch screen of C7-635 Touch control_eng2001 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 June 25th, 2009 04:54 PM
CP340 communication with proface touch screen sttchui LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 September 3rd, 2008 02:39 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 AM.


.