You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old July 11th, 2019, 06:46 PM   #1
nathan.slade
Member
Australia

nathan.slade is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: n.s.w
Posts: 63
Wireless rs232 link for scales

Hi all.
I work in food processing plant and for the last 18 months have been fighting with production over scales being put away and bagging of plugs before the cleaners drown everything. I have now been given the go ahead to place the scales readout into a stainless steel box on the wall and instead of having a rs232 plug on the bottom of the cabinet I was thinking of using a wireless connection to the pc. Has anyone done this before and what type of unit did you use? Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2019, 02:35 AM   #2
GaryS
Member
United States

GaryS is offline
 
GaryS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lancaster Pa.
Posts: 955
Here's what you need I have used them many times
easy to setup reliable and good support

http://advantech-bb.com/product-tech...inx-rf-modems/
  Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2019, 09:50 AM   #3
Firejo
Member
United States

Firejo is offline
 
Firejo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 1,253
https://data-linc.com/plr6030-serial/
__________________
Go Hawks!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2019, 02:12 PM   #4
nathan.slade
Member
Australia

nathan.slade is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: n.s.w
Posts: 63
Thanks juys but the computer and scales will be within 3 meters of each other. I has a quick look and a few serial to bluetooth converters came up. Has anyone used any of these?
  Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2019, 03:26 PM   #5
sparkie
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

sparkie is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: KS
Posts: 1,042
Bluetooth can be pretty flaky. What kind of weight indicators are on the scales?


The kind of weight indicator is useful because it will let us know how much room is inside of it. Can the scale application on the PC accept TCP data?


Just as a quick google, I found this. It takes a 5V wall-wart, but you could rig one up pretty easily to fit inside a lot of different indicators and tap off of the mains voltage.


https://www.usconverters.com/serial-rs232-wi-fi-adapter


There are some other options you can do about the cord-and-plug setups stand-wise that can work wonders as well and aren't quite so technical. The other main thing that just baffles me about this, is that production refuses to bag their equipment. Where I used to work supervisors could be fired for repeatedly not ensuring their equipment was bagged. It was part of the training for anyone working a station where the eyes had to be bagged. Anything sensitive would be hand-cleaned.

Last edited by sparkie; July 12th, 2019 at 03:35 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2019, 04:04 PM   #6
GaryS
Member
United States

GaryS is offline
 
GaryS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lancaster Pa.
Posts: 955
This may work, it is not industrial rated

https://www.newegg.com/p/pl?d=wirele...rs&isdeptsrh=1
  Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2019, 02:00 PM   #7
nathan.slade
Member
Australia

nathan.slade is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: n.s.w
Posts: 63
Thanks for the replies. The pc program does except tcp so will look into that as well.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2019, 02:04 PM   #8
sparkie
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

sparkie is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: KS
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathan.slade View Post
Thanks for the replies. The pc program does except tcp so will look into that as well.

Okay, otherwise you will need a TCP to serial adapter. The startech ones are pricier, but they are really tough.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2019, 02:05 PM   #9
danw
Member
United States

danw is offline
 
danw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: midwest, USA
Posts: 2,974
Heads up, I was looking for Bluetooth for 7 bit ASCII a couple years ago and could not find anything that handled 7 data bits (1 start bit, 1 stop bit).



Confirm the word format is suitable for whatever you pick.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wireless Access Allen Bradley halla26 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 August 29th, 2015 10:06 AM
SLC 500 DH485 Link Coupler nodes SiriusMark LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 July 28th, 2015 07:18 AM
Wireless requirement theripley LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 June 24th, 2015 05:51 PM
Wireless Ethernet/IP recommendations ASF LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 19 May 4th, 2015 10:00 PM
Step7 Soft Redundancy BackUP Link Break halburgepramod LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 June 27th, 2007 04:23 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:41 AM.


.