PLC Data to SQL Server...

skeeziix

I am a computer programmer looking to get all our PLC data pushed to a SQL server. We have proprietary PLC systems, GE, Allen Bradley, Flow-meters, Cameras, and whatever else.

I am trying to locate a software or program to get the data real-time out of these systems without bogging down the PLC or the network. Currently, our PLCs write either End of Day/End of Minute files out to a text file or an Access Database, depending upon the system.

So far I have researched Ignition (Factory PMI/Factory SQL) www.inductiveautomation.com; GE, and Rockwell Automation.

What is the best way to communicate PLC data out to a SQL Server?

Thanks much!
Erica

I've used both Factory SQL(and the new ignition opcua components). Works well for my applications.

Depending on the type of plc, you may need an opc server to talk between them if there isn't a OPCUA driver yet as part of Ignition.

Apparently Kepware V5.x can log data directly to an odbc database so no need for any other equipment/code, however if you wish to use kepware to grab the data then VB or C++ to populate the DB then it comes with the opcautomation dll that allows you to write a client (comes with sample code as well).
To be honest I bet most opc servers come with this i.e. takibishi, matrikon inat etc.

We use a Software called SQL4Automation. With this Software you have direct access from a plc or robot to a sql database. There are libraries for all CoDeSys plc, Stäubli Kuka and Bosch robots, Siemens will be released at the end of March. The only thing you need is a tcp socket connection from the plc to this connector. The connector can be downloaded and tested for free from the homepage.

Last edited: