You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 12th, 2017, 10:51 AM   #1
QvixoteRoux
Member
Mexico

QvixoteRoux is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Reynosa
Posts: 70
Omron Fanuc AB

Hi everybody


sorry for coming only to ask


I have a problem with some weirdo customer request
Aparently we need to interface 2 micrologix 1400, 2 omron CP1L and 2 Robots Fanuc LR Mate 200iD with controller R-30iB Mate
All this using a red Lion HMI G307K200


First they told use that they already have a similar setup using Ethernet communication, but they wont allow us to see the programs, this is something I hardly belive because of using omron and micrologix in the same network I dont know if is possible.

What I suspect is that they are using the HMI as a protocool translator, and I think we could be able to do the comms for both micrologix and both omron this way

I only need to know if is possible (and how) to comunicate with one of the omron to both robots via ethernet or modbus/tcp, or instead of the omron to use the red lion HMI using these two protocols.


I have to admit that I also am new using modbus


Any help is appreciated
__________________
Mexican, need to practice engrish, please cooperate

Industrial Engineer working as PLC programmer.
---
"Everybody believes what is easier for them to believe"
  Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2017, 05:52 PM   #2
BobB
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

BobB is online now
 
BobB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 4,137
The Red Lion has a protocol translator built in. I have set one up with Omron FINS on one side and Modbus TCP on the other side. Took a while but works well. Should be possible.
__________________
The Old Pfhaart

  Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2017, 07:09 PM   #3
Ranjith
Member
Australia

Ranjith is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 260
Which PLC controls the robots?
What field bus system you have on Omron and the robots?
If you have Ethernet Adapter/Slave option on the robot then you can use Ethernet IP option on Omron for comms. Then Omron PLC will talk to HMI.
Alternatively you can use Devicenet.

Use explicit messaging between Omron and AB.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2017, 05:20 PM   #4
QvixoteRoux
Member
Mexico

QvixoteRoux is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Reynosa
Posts: 70
We already solved the comm from omron to mirologix

and I think we managed to make something communicating one micrologix to the fanuc, the idea was that one of the omron CP1L to be working as master for both robots, since the other omron and the 2 ML already control a machine very one of them

Thats why we really wanted Omron to Fanuc via ethernet or modbus


Aparently this Is what we have
Omron has Fins ethernet and modbus/tcp
micrologix has ethernet+modbus/tcp
fanuc has only ethernet (we discovered it doesnt have the modbus PAC)
the red lion HMI has several protocool but it doesnt seems like having the right one to talk with the fanuc
__________________
Mexican, need to practice engrish, please cooperate

Industrial Engineer working as PLC programmer.
---
"Everybody believes what is easier for them to believe"
  Reply With Quote
Old August 15th, 2017, 04:15 AM   #5
Ranjith
Member
Australia

Ranjith is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 260
If you change the Omron from CP to CJ then you can use Ethernet IP to robot.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Omron NE1A Safety to AB devicenet averellen LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 13 June 29th, 2010 06:34 AM
AB journey Tim LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 18 December 18th, 2003 06:51 PM
Maths Instructions in Omron C200HE (AB guy struggling with Omron) chavak LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 March 10th, 2003 02:14 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33 AM.


.