You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 12th, 2017, 01:59 AM   #1
TL140
Member
United States

TL140 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 98
FactoryTalk ME Tag database conversion question.

So I have a problem. When trying to open one the projects that was in one of our HMIs to edit it, I get an error thrown up at me saying I need to use the database conversion tool. Right now, I don't have access to a 32 bit system. I spoke with the automation engineer and he said his system was 64 bit also. and he had no issues bringing up the program. When I ask for a copy of the backup (because i figure he had something converted, or knew something I didn't), he sent me .mer files... not .apa files... .mer files...

Does anyone have any suggestions or am I SOL at this stage? Is there something I'm missing?
__________________
"The best thing about a boolean is even if you are wrong, you are only off by a bit." -Anonymous

"A good programmer is someone who always looks both ways before crossing a one-way street." -Doug Linder
  Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2017, 02:50 AM   #2
sigmadelta
Member
Canada

sigmadelta is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: From Canada - Living in Bulgaria
Posts: 597
Which version of FT View ME does the automation engineer have, and which version do you have?
__________________
Freelance Automation Programmer
  Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2017, 02:53 AM   #3
TL140
Member
United States

TL140 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 98
Our version is 7.00. Unsure what his version is.
__________________
"The best thing about a boolean is even if you are wrong, you are only off by a bit." -Anonymous

"A good programmer is someone who always looks both ways before crossing a one-way street." -Doug Linder
  Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2017, 10:26 PM   #4
TL140
Member
United States

TL140 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 98
Still no luck with the issue. No more suggestions?
__________________
"The best thing about a boolean is even if you are wrong, you are only off by a bit." -Anonymous

"A good programmer is someone who always looks both ways before crossing a one-way street." -Doug Linder
  Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2017, 12:47 AM   #5
sigmadelta
Member
Canada

sigmadelta is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: From Canada - Living in Bulgaria
Posts: 597
Knowing the automation engineer's version is the starting point to find out what the issue might be. You could try to post the archive and see if I or anyone else can open it.
__________________
Freelance Automation Programmer
  Reply With Quote
Old August 27th, 2017, 11:01 PM   #6
TL140
Member
United States

TL140 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by sigmadelta View Post
Knowing the automation engineer's version is the starting point to find out what the issue might be. You could try to post the archive and see if I or anyone else can open it.
I just emailed the engineer and he said the version is the same that we have on our commuter. I will see if I can pack the file to an APA and get it to here.
__________________
"The best thing about a boolean is even if you are wrong, you are only off by a bit." -Anonymous

"A good programmer is someone who always looks both ways before crossing a one-way street." -Doug Linder
  Reply With Quote
Old August 28th, 2017, 04:44 AM   #7
rdrast
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

rdrast is offline
 
rdrast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: South Carolina Lowcountry
Posts: 5,103
Send it to Rockwell, and let them deal with the mess. Or send it to your distributor, they should support you.
__________________
------------------------------------
How to ask questions the SMART Way!

Look First, Ask Second!

  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FactoryTalk Studio SE Stalls when you try to open tag browser garbagegasman LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 March 28th, 2017 07:08 PM
Migrating FactoryTalk View Projects to Windows 7 64 bit Rob S. LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 27 November 29th, 2015 09:17 AM
Failed To Load Tag Config Server AshleyWolfrum LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 May 29th, 2015 01:22 PM
RSLogix 5000 Multiple Aliases to Same Tag davidc100 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 10 May 27th, 2014 08:04 PM
simple tag server question bulletin blues LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 March 1st, 2014 07:18 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:22 PM.


.