Add Remote IO with Devicenet

SicknoteX

Hi Guys,

I am still fairly new to RS Logix so please bare with me.

I have been asked by a client to add an additional IO card at one of their sites.

We tried once but due to a misunderstanding we were not successful. I was told that they needed a standard digital IO card (1769-32IQ) added to the local bus - simple!
Unfortunately, this was not correct. They need the card added as Devicenet Remote IO. I haven't worked with Devicenet before.

The set up is -
A Devicenet Scanner (1769-SDN) is connected to the local bus and this communicates with 2 Devicenet adapters (1769-ADN) in remote locations. Both adapters are configured and have IO cards already installed. They need the card added to node 2.

I have a copy of RSNetworx for Devicenet (currently in its grace period) and just want to make sure that the process is as simple as it appears in the Rockwell documentation.

I simply open the adapter in the network view, go to Module Configuration and add the card?!

The adapter is already in the scanlist of the Devicenet scanner so do I need to make any changes to the scanner config?

Has anyone added an IO card in this sort of set up before? Are there any other steps or problems that people have experienced?

Cheers

regarding your questions:

I have a copy of RSNetworx for Devicenet (currently in its grace period)

personally I'd wait until the "real license" is in place ... you wouldn't want your grace period to expire right in the middle of things (sadly, this operation could take longer than you expect) ...

just want to make sure that the process is as simple as it appears in the Rockwell documentation.

a rule of thumb: NOTHING is ever as simple as it appears in the documentation ...

DISCLAIMER: what follows is GUESSWORK based on what you've posted so far ... that's the best that we can do without a lot more detailed information from your end of the wire ...