plc controlling a vfd

lab

Hi,
I've just been give a task of controlling a bul. 160 ssc controller with a AB plc/5. I've never done anything like this before. I need to ramp the motor up based on the encoder output the higher the encoder count the higher the speed of the motor and vice versa.I will be using an analog card to give the motor a 4-20 ma signal.My question is how can I control the output signal to the motor and what kind of command set should I use? and where could I find a sample program to control a vfd? I have used a Mitsubishi plc FX1S-14-MT and use the high speed pulse output to control a servo drive, but I have never used an AB plc to do motion control. Any help would be very much appreciated.
Thanxs in advance
Lab

Im not an AB user but this is not as daunting as it may seem. However your approch will greatly depend on your spicific application needs, and what your drive can do.

Basicly (very basicly) you select a target speed and increment or decrement your output value to the analog unit until your encoder speed value matches the target speed value. How much to increase the analog output over how much time will depend on your application and the type (shape) output you want..depending on the application...

So...what's the application??

Thanxs for your reply elevmike,
My application is just a test stand for my self, I'm just trying to learn how to control motion via a plc.You refer to setting the increment and decrement values, is that the PTO command? or is there another?
Thanxs in advance
Lab

lab,