Red Lion G307K to Excel - options?

kolyur

Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
I have an upcoming project where I will need to transfer values from a G307K200 to an Excel spreadsheet on a nearby PC. I've worked with both products extensively but never had to marry the two. I have some experience with VBA which I assume will be required on the Excel side. Using an Ethernet connection would be preferred but I'm not opposed to serial if there's some advantage. Basically I will be transferring arrays of test results... the user will enter some identifying information in the spreadsheet, hit a button, and the corresponding array data will be looked up and transferred from the G307 to the proper cells in Excel. Basic Internet research has turned up ways of doing this with OPC and Modbus TCP, which usually involve purchased add-ons for Excel. (I'm not opposed to this if it provides a robust solution.)

The underlying challenge here is that this will be part of an OEM machine where the end user may not be very "techie," in other words the Excel interface needs to be reliable and packaged in such a way that it's not too difficult for the average user to install and use.

I have zero experience with OPC so I'm curious to hear opinions on that, but I'm open to any and all solutions.

A number of users have used AdvancedHMI to exchange data with a Red Lion using the ModbusTCP driver. Once the data is in AdvancedHMI, you can use a library named EPPlus that will read/write excel files. There is a sample project showing how to use Excel files with the CLX driver, you could use this as a reference, but use the ModbusTCP driver:

https://sourceforge.net/projects/advancedhmi/files/advancedhmi/3.5/SampleProjects/

The sample project is not based on the latest version. To start from scratch with the latest project:

- Download and extract the latest version of AdvancedHMI
- Open in Visual Studio
- Build->Build Solution
- Project->Manage Nuget Packages and search for EPPlus