Firmware Questions

slickfix

Hi all, I am a maintenance tech for a citys water and wastewater plant. PLC5 at water and Compactlogix at sewer. Have some firmware questions on compactlogix. All our sewer plant plcs are 1769-L32E. Some are firmware 16.20 some are 16.3

1) I backed up all our sewer plant plcs to compactflash a couple of years ago.
I did not not backup the firmware, just the program, as I was worried if I messed with the firmware, things might get messed up. I found out quickly when a processor failed, there was no firmware on the new processor. I had to
manually install the flash the firmware, was a pain. Our MBR plcs cannot be down for very long, so was critical.

When you check or uncheck "inhibit firmware updates" when storing to a CF card, what exactly does this do. What I want to do is save the program and firmware to my CF card, but I do not want to take the chance of messing up or changing the firmware or program on the processor.

I only want to load off the CF on corrupt memory, so would the correct steps be: Store to CF card, uncheck the inhibit updates, and select on corrupt memory option?

2) I recently had some analog ouput modules fail and replaced them. I need to order some new ones and am confused by the version,series, and firmware options. The new ones I looked at have a higher firmware number.

What are the rules for compatibility as for as version, series, and firmware.
what do I look for? Does the processor automatically update the firmware on the module or what? The manuals say very little on this subject.

Thanks everyone,

Eric

Welcome to the forum!

I don't typically use CF cards in my applications, so while this is how I understand it to work, I might have some things slightly wrong. I'm sure someone will drop in and correct me if I do!