Monitoring 2 doors with 1 Stack Light

Jody Boehs

Hello,

I am fairly new to PLC programming. I have wrote a few programs, but still learning.

I am part of a volunteer fire department. We are fixing to build a new station soon. I want to install a PLC to operate all the overhead doors (8 of them). Due to safety reasons I will be installing stack lights between each of the doors. Now comes the confusing part (for me anyway). I want the stack light on either side of each door to reflect the status of that particular door. For instance, if Door 1 is open, then the lights on either side of door 1 would display the same status. BUT, I need the same thing on door 2, I need the lights on either side of door 2 to reflect its status.

If this is even possible then door 2 would be interrupting the status of door 1 shown on the light between door 1 and 2.

My original plan was to have:
RED Rapid flash - Opening or Closing
RED Steady ON - Stopped while in motion
AMBER Slow flash - Opened but auto closing in set amount of time
BLUE Slow flash - Opening or Closing
BLUE Steady ON - Open
GREEN Steady ON - Opened or Closed

I this even possible or will I need separate lights for each door?

Its hard to make a single stack show the status of more than one door. Perhaps better to put the stacklights above each door rather than between them?
You also need to resolve the discrepancies in your specification for the condition to be indicated by each color. For example, your definition of red rapid flash and blue slow flash is the same. Also if green steady on denotes opened or closed, what does blue steady on represent? Is there a difference between open and opened?

Seems overly complicated for some doors. 6 states is a lot to remember. Can you not reduce to say green and red, or green, amber and red.

KISS is normally the best approach.

Are you really working for an FD ?

I'm asking because this sounds a lot more like a homework problem than a real application.