You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 8th, 2018, 12:19 PM   #1
Timeismoney08
Member
United States

Timeismoney08 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 171
Electrical Drawings - Showing Wiring Terminals

All,

I've asked a million questions today.

Hopefully this is the last, but do you show anything on your drawings to indicate entry and starting of a new wire into a wire terminal. Something like the typical wago terminals.

If so, how do you show it? Just with a dot?


Thanks for the help!
  Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2018, 12:28 PM   #2
scott.lawrence
Member
United States

scott.lawrence is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 98
usually with a numbered square denoting the terminal number & number/location of the block beside it
  Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2018, 12:30 PM   #3
Picklemon
Member
United States

Picklemon is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 12
Most of my customers require circles with the terminal number and location.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2018, 07:26 PM   #4
James Mcquade
Member
United States

James Mcquade is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 2,164
I used to work for a UK company with a division in Tennessee.
they detailed every enclosure and junction box.

I've had customers request that kind of detail, most don't care.
just give them a reliable set of cad drawings with terminals noted so they can wire it and they are happy.

james
  Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2018, 08:12 PM   #5
bill4807
Member
United States

bill4807 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: michigan
Posts: 76
Open-Circle with a terminal number, in the line diagram. A dot is a node/connection.
Then in the panel layout as long as everything is scaled properly label the terminals blocks "sometimes". But most of the time the customers like font large enough to see. Greater or equal to (.125). So most of the time not labeled in the panel layout.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2018, 03:48 PM   #6
dogleg43
Member
United States

dogleg43 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 295
The first thing is to always include a symbol sheet or table somewhere. That solves a lot of problems. So terminals can then be circles, squares, triangles, etc.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2018, 07:05 PM   #7
Timeismoney08
Member
United States

Timeismoney08 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by dogleg43 View Post
The first thing is to always include a symbol sheet or table somewhere. That solves a lot of problems. So terminals can then be circles, squares, triangles, etc.
So just by having a sheet showing the symbols used will allow me to use any symbol I like? or is that just for things that don't have a standard symbol for?
  Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2018, 07:34 PM   #8
Bit_Bucket_07
Member
United States

Bit_Bucket_07 is offline
 
Bit_Bucket_07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Southeast US
Posts: 1,401
In some drawings that I have done, I have used different symbols for equipment terminals vs. terminal board terminals.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2018, 08:26 PM   #9
Aabeck
Member
United States

Aabeck is offline
 
Aabeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Detroit
Posts: 969
I find it nice to indicate when a wire is joined on a terminal. I also, mostly with timers and specialty devices, mark which terminal on them each wire goes to.

However, I do remember years back the first German air compressor I worked on had a schematic of ONLY terminal numbers - no wires were numbered on the schematic or labelled in the machine. I had to trace each wire in the schematic to see where it came from (IE - CR05, terminal 3) and where it was going. The only time I can figure that would come in handy would be when the machine is being wired during the build.
__________________
Never underestimate the quality of idiots that will be running your machines
http://aabeck.com
  Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2018, 02:32 AM   #10
Saffa
Member
New Zealand

Saffa is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Bay of Plenty
Posts: 861
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aabeck View Post
However, I do remember years back the first German air compressor I worked on had a schematic of ONLY terminal numbers - no wires were numbered on the schematic or labelled in the machine. I had to trace each wire in the schematic to see where it came from (IE - CR05, terminal 3) and where it was going. The only time I can figure that would come in handy would be when the machine is being wired during the build.
I had to change two Parker drives on a German-made Huber dewatering system today. Both were making a lovely bang when powered up. Detailed drawings, but not a single wire labeled within the panel.

Had to add insulation tape labels to each wire during the change. Real pain in the *** for a Friday afternoon breakdown, too much thinking involved!
  Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2018, 02:59 AM   #11
JesperMP
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Denmark

JesperMP is offline
 
JesperMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Copenhagen.
Posts: 13,244
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timeismoney08 View Post
[..] do you show anything on your drawings to indicate entry and starting of a new wire into a wire terminal. Something like the typical wago terminals.
If so, how do you show it? Just with a dot?
"Entry and starting new wire into a wire terminal".
I read that as how do you show how the wiring is really connected for when you wire the same potential to several compoenents. In other words connecting a wire to a component terminal, and then continuing the same potential by connecting a new wire to the same terminal.
In that case a dot is not enough. We use a symbol like in the picture below.
You can see that the potential -XG2.1:1 from the left goes into =SCC.G1-FC4:13, and the continues with a new wire to the right.

It does not matter if it is a terminal, a contact on a relay or any other component, the principle is the same.
Attached Images
File Type: png wire_branch.png (8.9 KB, 184 views)
__________________
Jesper
3 strikes and you're out
  Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2018, 05:47 AM   #12
LadderLogic
Member
United States

LadderLogic is offline
 
LadderLogic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicagolandia
Posts: 1,271
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saffa View Post
Had to add insulation tape labels to each wire during the change. Real pain in the *** for a Friday afternoon breakdown, too much thinking involved!
That is exactly the reason why there were no wire labels in the first place - labeling wires is a very time-consuming part of wiring process. Of course that means that if this particular wire has to terminate at terminal strip -X1, terminal 5, connection point 1 - it will be terminated right there, dammit! And not at the connection point 2 of the same terminal or you'll lose your job, Dummkopf!

That is how it works
__________________
Don't trust, don't fear, don't beg...
  Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2018, 09:30 PM   #13
dogleg43
Member
United States

dogleg43 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 295
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timeismoney08 View Post
So just by having a sheet showing the symbols used will allow me to use any symbol I like? or is that just for things that don't have a standard symbol for?
Umm, well yes, unless you are following a higher order specification that says you have to use something different.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2018, 09:38 PM   #14
dogleg43
Member
United States

dogleg43 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 295
Quote:
Originally Posted by JesperMP View Post
"Entry and starting new wire into a wire terminal".
I read that as how do you show how the wiring is really connected for when you wire the same potential to several compoenents. In other words connecting a wire to a component terminal, and then continuing the same potential by connecting a new wire to the same terminal.
In that case a dot is not enough. We use a symbol like in the picture below.
You can see that the potential -XG2.1:1 from the left goes into =SCC.G1-FC4:13, and the continues with a new wire to the right.

It does not matter if it is a terminal, a contact on a relay or any other component, the principle is the same.
But are two wire #XG2.1:1 landed on the #13 terminal of the switch or is there a joint/terminal somewhere else? Sorry, Iím not a big fan of this style of drawing.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2018, 12:27 PM   #15
LadderLogic
Member
United States

LadderLogic is offline
 
LadderLogic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicagolandia
Posts: 1,271
Quote:
Originally Posted by dogleg43 View Post
But are two wire #XG2.1:1 landed on the #13 terminal of the switch or is there a joint/terminal somewhere else? Sorry, I’m not a big fan of this style of drawing.
As this is drawn, it shows that yes, there are two wires at the connection point 13 of contact -FC4 with no terminal in between. This style of drawing may take some getting used to but actually shows how things should be wired quite clearly.
__________________
Don't trust, don't fear, don't beg...
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Delta RMC150 Wiring drawings & module symbols TConnolly LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 January 12th, 2009 08:49 AM
Autocad drawings for electrical cabinets bigrthanur LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 September 30th, 2007 01:24 PM
drawing electrical prints 2004sk4 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 38 July 10th, 2006 11:22 PM
A Thought on Electrical Drawings Doug_Adam LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 June 16th, 2006 07:44 AM
electrical wiring question grey LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 27 December 12th, 2005 09:30 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:33 AM.


.