You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 2nd, 2018, 02:19 PM   #1
JeffKiper
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

JeffKiper is offline
 
JeffKiper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,165
What is the oldest PLC system you have running?

I was at a plant today and found a water treatment system with a SLC 100 and 2 expansion racks still running. The customer didn't even know it was in there. They thought it was all relay logic.

Just a funny little surprise. Makes you smile every now and then.
__________________
There should be a minimum IQ before people can breed.

FS Eng (TÜV Rheinland, #11004/15, Machinery)
  Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2018, 02:33 PM   #2
cardosocea
Member
United Kingdom

cardosocea is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Fields of corn
Posts: 1,115
We have a bunch of PLC5's... one PLC3 and another PLC2. These are running and powered, but no longer controlling anything. I think we're just seeing how long the LED's in the front work.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2018, 02:38 PM   #3
gclshortt
Member
Canada

gclshortt is offline
 
gclshortt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Cobourg
Posts: 2,682
We currently have a Modicon 984 running a machine in our plant.
Operators are trained every year to run without the PLC for practice.
When it finally dies we will upgrade our "PLC Room" to a small panel.
__________________
Garry
https://www.accautomation.ca
Connect with us on Facebook: facebook.com/accautomation/
  Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2018, 02:46 PM   #4
scott.lawrence
Member
United States

scott.lawrence is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 133
more than a few PLC5's around here.... in the process of swapping them out
  Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2018, 03:28 PM   #5
Sapper307
Member
United States

Sapper307 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Maryland
Posts: 99
One of my plants has a mid to late 80's GE Series 6 controlling the steam host to a potato chip factory. I'm afraid to even look at that thing the wrong way or it'll die on me.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2018, 03:32 PM   #6
RonJohn
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

RonJohn is offline
 
RonJohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 439
Like others, we're slowly but surely upgrading our PLC5 & SLC processors. We still have a 5/15 from almost 30 years ago and a fixed I/O SLC5/01 that I programmed when working for an OEM in the early 1990's.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2018, 03:37 PM   #7
Mad_Poet
Member
United States

Mad_Poet is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Virginia
Posts: 255
I believe my oldest is a PLC-5/15.
With Data Highway.

I also have five SLC-5/04's and five Logix 5550's.

And the programming packages with which I have downloaded and archived
the programs for all of the above.

Oh, wait. Bender One.
I believe it has a Micrologix 1500. The book is marked 2003 . . does that sound right?

Poet.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2018, 03:43 PM   #8
Dravik
Member
United States

Dravik is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 1,378
Still have some Ti545s connected to 7MT io.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2018, 03:46 PM   #9
Ozpeter
Member
United States

Ozpeter is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Virginia
Posts: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sapper307 View Post
One of my plants has a mid to late 80's GE Series 6 controlling the steam host to a potato chip factory. I'm afraid to even look at that thing the wrong way or it'll die on me.
Those things were built to last. But there are lots of upgrade options if you ever wanted to replace it.

Back in the '90's/00's I worked for the company that deigned/built the S6PIO cards and associated software for doing the conversions. As long as you did the prep work it was a fairly painless process.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2018, 03:57 PM   #10
lfe
Member
France

lfe is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 306
About 3 years ago a kiln that I installed in 1987 was switched off the last time. It had a Hitachi E series PLC programmed with this keyboard



It also had a simple SCADA programmed by me on a 8088 computer.
The computer controlled the regulation loops directly through an Analog Devices I/O card.
The PLC only controlled the logical part of contacts and coils
__________________
Suppanel HMI

Last edited by lfe; August 2nd, 2018 at 04:04 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2018, 04:08 PM   #11
widelto
Member
Colombia

widelto is offline
 
widelto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: barranquilla
Posts: 2,628
Allen Bradley PLC 2/15 and PLC 2/17 that was in 1989. They were replaced with compactlogix L32E.
__________________
My two cents.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2018, 04:50 PM   #12
Sapper307
Member
United States

Sapper307 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Maryland
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ozpeter View Post
Those things were built to last. But there are lots of upgrade options if you ever wanted to replace it.

Back in the '90's/00's I worked for the company that deigned/built the S6PIO cards and associated software for doing the conversions. As long as you did the prep work it was a fairly painless process.
Nowadays you'd probably have to convert S6 to 90/30 or 90/70, then convert it again to RX3i. I'll have to push that site to budget for an upgrade, its pretty ridiculous.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2018, 05:32 PM   #13
GaryS
Member
United States

GaryS is offline
 
GaryS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lancaster Pa.
Posts: 811
I have 1 client with 3 SLC150 running every day he will not upgrade until they fail and he loses production.
another running an AB9300 CNC
Others running PLC 2/ 2/16 2/17 2/30
  Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2018, 05:34 PM   #14
iraiam
Member
United States

iraiam is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Right here
Posts: 137
A whole fleet of PLC5s, Slated for upgrades to CLX but I don't think it top on the list of priorities.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2018, 05:58 PM   #15
JaxGTO
Member
United States

JaxGTO is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kalieefornia
Posts: 642
Still have a customer with a PLC 2/17 and a HMI running Windows 4.11 with Wonderware. It's on an old Alvey palletizer that they say they are going to replace. Been saying that for 10 years now.
__________________
I have to use Rockwell Software!
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rs logix 5000 varunmahendran91 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 October 6th, 2014 02:26 PM
How to handle PLC failures blackandredwarrior LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 39 October 19th, 2012 12:02 PM
Message command between two AB PLC 5's running in RSLogix Emulate 5 jarodl LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 July 10th, 2011 03:29 PM
PLC System Alarms to DCS !!! Tomsci LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 January 25th, 2010 09:15 AM
Delay Timer AGENTTINFOIL LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 February 11th, 2006 08:25 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:40 PM.


.