You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 2nd, 2018, 05:40 PM   #16
Archie
Member
United States

Archie is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Orangeburg, SC
Posts: 1,774
What about AB's pre-SLC100 controller, I think it was called a MAC. Are any of those still out there running?
__________________
Expectations lead to disappointment. Appreciation leads to satisfaction.

AdvancedHMI - HMI Software without the license key hassles
  Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2018, 06:07 PM   #17
bluebyu
Member
United States

bluebyu is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Pa
Posts: 226
We still have 2 or 3 TI 510's, installed in the very early 1980's.
Anyone remember the TI VPU with the VIM to connect?
  Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2018, 07:51 PM   #18
DSMR
Member
United States

DSMR is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 28
Automax
  Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2018, 12:40 AM   #19
Saffa
Member
New Zealand

Saffa is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Bay of Plenty
Posts: 905
We've just finished building a new treatment plant which has made this chlorine injection station obsolete... the controls had been built by an ex university professor 30 years ago on veroboard using CMOS gates and op amps etc. No drawings existed. Beautifully tidy work, and was still operating fine.

Other than that a few Modicon quauntum 984 racks from mid 90s. All but one upgraded to Unity firmware now, one replaced with an M580 hot standby. Still going strong.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2018, 02:12 AM   #20
JohnCalderwood
Member
Scotland

JohnCalderwood is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Stirling
Posts: 597
Just decommissioned our last Klockner Moeller PS3 PLC system last year, converted to ControlLogix...lots of KM spares now.......

plenty of 1771-PLC5 systems still running here on Remote I/O, as we upgrade to CLX and Ethernet, we generate our own spares of 1794-ASB units

Even have a couple of 1771-AF modules with a fibre running over a great distance....nobody wants to go to the top station because they get divebombed by the birds nesting there....
  Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2018, 02:15 AM   #21
EICS
Member
Australia

EICS is offline
 
EICS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 75
about 12 years ago i pulled out a custom made Zilog Z80 batching controller written with assembly language that interfaced with an original PLC2 with 1777 4 point I/o TTL cards. the Zilog Z80 was also connected to toledo weigh system that used BCD and had a mix of DTL & TTL logic.



system was installed in 1979. it was still running fine at the time.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2018, 02:23 AM   #22
JohnCalderwood
Member
Scotland

JohnCalderwood is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Stirling
Posts: 597
Almost forgot about our 1771 co-processor module in one of our glue processes...
We have a spare module and the "program" to load the configuration to it, after getting instructions from Hugh Pickard at Rockwell as to how to do it. The module has required reset a couple of times recently.
At the time I spoke to Hugh, he said there were 2 people left at Rockwell who knew about this module. Hugh has since retired...........

I spoke to the supplier of the system, who admitted that the spare module will only be useful if we can take out the memory chips of the running system's module. They had to upgrade these to get enough memory to run the program.

I have requested an upgrade..........awaiting approval...
  Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2018, 02:48 AM   #23
Dirt
Member
Sweden

Dirt is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 208
There's a lot of old machines out there..

I've seen these still in use:
Modicon C484
ABB MasterPiece 200
Siemens Teleperm M
Sattcon 05-10
  Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2018, 02:58 AM   #24
BryanG
Member
United Kingdom

BryanG is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Manchester
Posts: 1,276
A bit OT. The PLC of its time for sequence programming was a Cam Timer.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cam_timer
I had a call 6 years ago about one I used in the very early 80s in a brewery, it was controlling a Candle Filter, still chugging along. Nobody on site knew what it did but they found one of our labels in the box and were happy to be able to get drawings and a timing sequence chart.
__________________
Knowledge is power, share the knowledge.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2018, 03:20 AM   #25
Ronnie Sullivan
Member
United Kingdom

Ronnie Sullivan is online now
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: London
Posts: 469
Every year on a companies annual 2 week shutdown I replace the output boards on a Toshiba EX 200 and all its extension boards.
I then desolder all the old relays and replace them with new ones.
They then have newly refurbished boards to go straight in if any go in the meantime.

They will not hear of upgrading to a new PLC.
__________________
I promise to get it right 3rd time every time.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2018, 05:32 AM   #26
ianingram
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

ianingram is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 412
I visit a site where they have a 1756-L1 processor, connected to a SCADA computer that is running RSview (can't remember exactly which version). The computer has windows 2000 as the operating system, which pre-dates Windows XP.

I think that it was installed around 1998. The PLC has version 8 firmware, and the PC also has RSLogix 5000 version 8 installed on it, so I can see the program file ok (for now), however this version cannot be installed on a new computer - and I don't want to risk a firmware upgrade.

When you how see how important this system is to production, it is amazing that it hasn't yet been upgraded.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2018, 05:36 AM   #27
ianingram
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

ianingram is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 412
And then today I went to a site to check on a Twido PLC that was installed in 2007 - I have also found out that the Real Time Clock module for the Twido is no longer available - and the clock is vital to the job that this PLC is doing - so we will be quoting to replace this system soon.

I guess 11 years is a good run for a cheap PLC like a Twido
  Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2018, 06:01 AM   #28
PLC Pie Guy
Member
Canada

PLC Pie Guy is offline
 
PLC Pie Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Halifax
Posts: 687
I am responsible for an old plant that we use their CA buildings for storage. It has an old CH30 Omron with 4 remote racks. All in all about 25-30 cards. It runs 5 glycol units and a floor temperature control system, it runs another 5 compressor system for 2 massive controlled atmosphere buildings as well as 2, 200HP ammonia compressors for blast freezers. All controlled by one, very old XP machine running what IM sure is a shady version of RSV32.
Iv had troubles with this system over the years. Loosing com cards, power supplies and such. Parts are extremely hard to get and I or they have 0 spares for anything.
Iv been preaching to them for years to get something started and not to wait until D-Day because that day, I don't want to hear about it. Its always a scramble when this goes down as millions of dollars of product are at risk. I can't believe they won't bite the bullet and upgrade. They just think I can "make it work" every time!
Worst part is, I have their backups, ghosted XP machine and all as I used to work in this plant before it got de-commissioned, but should I really just hand it to them? They have no software, licenses or anything.
Iv already given it to them once and got it all up and running for them after they purchased the building from the old owner who stripped even the code from the PLC's and the RSV32 application from the PC and left the system unusable. I wasn't compensated even a bit for it. They have no idea how big of a deal it is to just be handed a working project to start up a de-commissioned refrigeration system of this size.

Would you give it to them?

Its time to upgrade!!!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2018, 06:12 AM   #29
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 5,737
Quote:
Originally Posted by lfe View Post
About 3 years ago a kiln that I installed in 1987 was switched off the last time. It had a Hitachi E series PLC programmed with this keyboard
May he rest in peace

Its funny when we change out out old projects, I remember cutting up a old machine I made... took a couple months making it but about 30 sec with that plasma cutter, it was only in production about 6 months

I would guess that about 10% of my cables are for legacy equipment that are obsolete, I still sell about 5 cables a week for SLC100/150's and ship them all around the world
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, Fluke Meters, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more... all your automation needs... ((NEW)) After Market 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+ and Gateways
  Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2018, 06:33 AM   #30
KB1GNI
Member
United States

KB1GNI is offline
 
KB1GNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Live Free or Die, USA
Posts: 74
We have a bunch of test machines here with Automation Direct 305 PLCs and 340 CPUs still running. Most of those were installed some time in the '90s and there is a blend of GE, Siemens, TI, and A/D parts that all work together. I picked up one of the spare GE modules we have and the date code on that one was from the late '80s, I believe. We also have some newer machines with 350 CPUs.

Sad that A/D is phasing them out after all these years. That has to be one of the longest production runs for a PLC platform to be in continuous production.
__________________
-Lee

“Felix, qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas” - Happiness is understanding how things work.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rs logix 5000 varunmahendran91 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 October 6th, 2014 01:26 PM
How to handle PLC failures blackandredwarrior LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 39 October 19th, 2012 11:02 AM
Message command between two AB PLC 5's running in RSLogix Emulate 5 jarodl LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 July 10th, 2011 02:29 PM
PLC System Alarms to DCS !!! Tomsci LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 January 25th, 2010 08:15 AM
Delay Timer AGENTTINFOIL LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 February 11th, 2006 07:25 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54 AM.


.