You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 4th, 2018, 06:23 PM   #46
sparkie
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

sparkie is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: KS
Posts: 740
Quote:
Originally Posted by jstolaruk View Post
About 10 years ago, I used to do a bunch of work at the (3) Chrysler Transmission plants in Kokomo IN and one of the plants had several of the A-B CNCs on large machines. Anyone that was trained to maintain them had long since retired and A-B couldn't provide support either. Last I looked there was someone on the east coast repairing them.

I feigned ignorance even though I had installed several in the early 80s. Probably could have made a career right there keeping those machines running.
And charged a very high rate to do so.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2018, 07:56 AM   #47
hagos
Member
Sudan

hagos is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Africa
Posts: 206
Hi Sparkies

What about the Automate 35 from Reliance & the Hazeltine 1500 terminal?are they still around?

Ceers
  Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2018, 10:36 AM   #48
LadderLogic
Member
United States

LadderLogic is offline
 
LadderLogic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicagolandia
Posts: 1,271
Quote:
Originally Posted by jstolaruk View Post
About 10 years ago, I used to do a bunch of work at the (3) Chrysler Transmission plants in Kokomo IN and one of the plants had several of the A-B CNCs on large machines. Anyone that was trained to maintain them had long since retired and A-B couldn't provide support either. Last I looked there was someone on the east coast repairing them.

I feigned ignorance even though I had installed several in the early 80s. Probably could have made a career right there keeping those machines running.
Ehhh... 9/Series? Oh God...
__________________
Don't trust, don't fear, don't beg...
  Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2018, 09:48 PM   #49
seth350
Member
United States

seth350 is offline
 
seth350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Over yonder
Posts: 221
GE Fanuc Series One

It was the oldest, it finally died last week. It started loosing its program off and on, and we actually had the original program tape and tape player with cables.

Next oldest is a GE Fanuc Series One Junior

I’ll kind of miss programming that plc. It was always fun to skip down the aisle with a tape player and user manual tucked up under my arm. It would always get questions and confused looks. “Your going to program a PLC, with..whatever that is..?” Yes, it’s called a tape player. While not sitting in your room waiting for that one song to come on the radio, and triple checking that you got the tape ready so that you don’t record over any other songs, you can program PLCs with it.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg F68A98A4-35DE-4BA2-9CBC-B14D0F75DAC6.jpg (157 Bytes, 75 views)
File Type: jpg F0440919-175C-4470-919B-CFDC04F6D99C.jpg (157 Bytes, 46 views)
__________________
“Did the Lord say that machines outta take the place of livin’, and what’s the substitute for bread and beans? Do engines get rewarded for their steam?” -John Henry
  Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2018, 05:05 AM   #50
EICS
Member
Australia

EICS is offline
 
EICS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 48
pics dont show up unfortunately, were they of the tape player ?
  Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2018, 06:19 AM   #51
seth350
Member
United States

seth350 is offline
 
seth350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Over yonder
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by EICS View Post
pics dont show up unfortunately, were they of the tape player ?
That’s weird. I can’t edit it either.
Yeah it was a pic of the plc and another pic of the programming spread. Plc in the cabinet, tape player, tape, and user manual. Lol

__________________
“Did the Lord say that machines outta take the place of livin’, and what’s the substitute for bread and beans? Do engines get rewarded for their steam?” -John Henry

Last edited by seth350; August 6th, 2018 at 06:23 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2018, 06:25 AM   #52
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 5,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by seth350 View Post
That’s weird. I can’t edit it either.
Its a issue with the website and Phil has been working on it
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, Fluke Meters, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more... all your automation needs... ((NEW)) After Market 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+ and Gateways
  Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2018, 06:46 AM   #53
EICS
Member
Australia

EICS is offline
 
EICS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 48
what era is that GE series 1 ?



i don't think these things were ever marketed in Oz to my knowledge. early 80's was flooded with all the Jap branded PLC's (hitachi, national, mitsubishi, Omron etc) Bradley, siemens and Modicons i even saw some festo (re badged omron's). my first PLC course was in 1988 on PLC 2's and Square D back then i was impressed with the square D as its addressing stucture was much simpler than the octal based PLC2.



funny i still remember plc2 counters and timers data tables was 030 -> 077 with their preset values at 130 -> 177.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2018, 07:25 AM   #54
Saffa
Member
New Zealand

Saffa is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Bay of Plenty
Posts: 861
And here I used to complain about programming my old Modicon Quatum 534's. Immediate changes if editing online and a buggy third party editor.

I can't even imagine the horrors of having to use a tape. Did you edit the code in the PLC and just back it up to the tape, or did you enter it onto the tape and then load it in And hope you had everything as expected?

We really have come a long way.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2018, 07:42 AM   #55
JesperMP
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Denmark

JesperMP is offline
 
JesperMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Copenhagen.
Posts: 13,244
Way back, I have experience with some pretty rarely used PLCs.
Like Festo FPC, S5-110, AEG (with AEG software, not Modicon software), SattCon 100, in addition to the more typical S5-100, -115, -135, AB PLC5, AB SLC500 etc.
The strangest thing was a control system made out of logic blocks (kinda like Lego blocks) with each block having an OR-gate, an AND-gate, or a timer. A nightmare to troubleshoot !

Today I deal in upgrading old relay controls, and S5-95, S5-115 and B&R 2005 to S7-1500.
__________________
Jesper
3 strikes and you're out
  Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2018, 07:45 AM   #56
icky812
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

icky812 is offline
 
icky812's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cumming, GA
Posts: 691
The GE Series One was branded by GE from 1982 to roughly 1988. It was (and still is) made by Koyo Electronics.

The program was entered into the PLC via a pushbutton programming deck mounted to the front of the PLC. The program was then transferred to the cassette player via the same pushbutton deck.

The PLC was rebranded by Texas Instruments (late 80's) and Siemens (early 90's) before transferring to AutomationDirect as the DirectLogic 305 Series around 1994.

ADC still sells the majority of the parts for them.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2018, 08:14 AM   #57
seth350
Member
United States

seth350 is offline
 
seth350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Over yonder
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by icky812 View Post
The GE Series One was branded by GE from 1982 to roughly 1988. It was (and still is) made by Koyo Electronics.

The program was entered into the PLC via a pushbutton programming deck mounted to the front of the PLC. The program was then transferred to the cassette player via the same pushbutton deck.

The PLC was rebranded by Texas Instruments (late 80's) and Siemens (early 90's) before transferring to AutomationDirect as the DirectLogic 305 Series around 1994.

ADC still sells the majority of the parts for them.
But don’t expect to buy a Directlogic PLC and swap out a GE Series One.
It won’t even power up. I’m guessing that the rack is different.

Here is the programmer.

__________________
“Did the Lord say that machines outta take the place of livin’, and what’s the substitute for bread and beans? Do engines get rewarded for their steam?” -John Henry
  Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2018, 10:54 AM   #58
KB1GNI
Member
United States

KB1GNI is offline
 
KB1GNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Live Free or Die, USA
Posts: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by seth350 View Post
But don’t expect to buy a Directlogic PLC and swap out a GE Series One.
It won’t even power up. I’m guessing that the rack is different.
You can't use a 350 CPU, no, but the 330 / 340 should work in a Series One rack.
__________________
-Lee

“Felix, qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas” - Happiness is understanding how things work.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2018, 11:00 AM   #59
seth350
Member
United States

seth350 is offline
 
seth350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Over yonder
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by KB1GNI View Post
You can't use a 350 CPU, no, but the 330 / 340 should work in a Series One rack.
That is probably why mine didn’t work. Oh well, a BRX DM1E-M is going to take its place. First time to use an AD plc, this little guy seems pretty decent.
__________________
“Did the Lord say that machines outta take the place of livin’, and what’s the substitute for bread and beans? Do engines get rewarded for their steam?” -John Henry
  Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2018, 11:06 AM   #60
seth350
Member
United States

seth350 is offline
 
seth350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Over yonder
Posts: 221
Here’s another oldie.
__________________
“Did the Lord say that machines outta take the place of livin’, and what’s the substitute for bread and beans? Do engines get rewarded for their steam?” -John Henry
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rs logix 5000 varunmahendran91 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 October 6th, 2014 01:26 PM
How to handle PLC failures blackandredwarrior LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 39 October 19th, 2012 11:02 AM
Message command between two AB PLC 5's running in RSLogix Emulate 5 jarodl LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 July 10th, 2011 02:29 PM
PLC System Alarms to DCS !!! Tomsci LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 January 25th, 2010 08:15 AM
Delay Timer AGENTTINFOIL LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 February 11th, 2006 07:25 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32 AM.


.