You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 6th, 2018, 11:29 AM   #61
Chris Taylor
Lifetime Supporting Member
England

Chris Taylor is offline
 
Chris Taylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Canterbury
Posts: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by JesperMP View Post
The strangest thing was a control system made out of logic blocks (kinda like Lego blocks) with each block having an OR-gate, an AND-gate, or a timer. A nightmare to troubleshoot !

JesperMP


Were these MTE (I think) blocks that stacked on top of each other with screw clamp connectors sprouting all around, about the size of a cigarette packet. They stacked on breakable metal rods, if one failed in the middle of the stack then you had to disconnect everything above and slide them off to change hteone that had failed. I hated those.
__________________
www.BIJC.co.uk
  Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2018, 05:51 PM   #62
TWS
Member
United States

TWS is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: virginia
Posts: 195
SLC-100 2 expansion racks, just retired late last year.
Shark PLC retired in January
5-TI series, 2 retired one still in service. retiring in 3 months.
PDP-11 still in service. retiring in 3 months.
3 PLC 5-35 systems still in service.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2018, 05:54 PM   #63
TWS
Member
United States

TWS is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: virginia
Posts: 195
Originally Posted by JesperMP View Post
The strangest thing was a control system made out of logic blocks (kinda like Lego blocks) with each block having an OR-gate, an AND-gate, or a timer. A nightmare to troubleshoot!

That reminds me of Cincinnati Milicron Mold Presses. If you wanted to change the logic you had to get out the wire wrap tool.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2018, 02:53 AM   #64
JesperMP
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Denmark

JesperMP is offline
 
JesperMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Copenhagen.
Posts: 13,345
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Taylor View Post
JesperMP
Quote:
Originally Posted by JesperMP
The strangest thing was a control system made out of logic blocks (kinda like Lego blocks) with each block having an OR-gate, an AND-gate, or a timer. A nightmare to troubleshoot !
Were these MTE (I think) blocks that stacked on top of each other with screw clamp connectors sprouting all around, about the size of a cigarette packet. They stacked on breakable metal rods, if one failed in the middle of the stack then you had to disconnect everything above and slide them off to change hteone that had failed. I hated those.
No was different. I dont remember the brand now. The system I remember was with little grey blocks 5mm x 20mm x 10mm, with the pins on one of the thin edges. The pins plugged into connectors that were soldered onto a circuit board. Worst time I had to try and fix one of these systems were when there was a hairline crack in one of the copper circuits on the circuit board. Intermittent error that only showed up at certain temperatures. And it was near impossible to get access to measure anything. And of course the logic was inverted (signal high = off), but that was the least inconvenience.
__________________
Jesper
3 strikes and you're out
  Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2018, 05:27 AM   #65
Mad_Poet
Member
United States

Mad_Poet is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Virginia
Posts: 235
ianingram > I visit a site where they have a 1756-L1 processor, connected to a SCADA computer that is running RSview (can't remember exactly which version). The computer has windows 2000 as the operating system, which pre-dates Windows XP.

I think that it was installed around 1998. The PLC has version 8 firmware, and the PC also has RSLogix 5000 version 8 installed on it, so I can see the program file ok (for now), however this version cannot be installed on a new computer - and I don't want to risk a firmware upgrade.

>>>>

Ian,
First thing I would do is create a ghost image of the computer. Restore the image to
another computer (capable of Win-2000). Get the Windows 'fixed' so it runs and that should carry everything across - RSLogix 5000, RSLinx, and that precious license.

I did that to an IBM thinkpad. When the Thinkpad died, I was able to put the image on another (old) laptop and get it running. Including that funky card for allowing the laptop to interface with a PLC5/15. I still use it to access PLC-5, SLC, and an RSLogix 500 PLC.
Poet.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2018, 06:15 AM   #66
mbartoli
Member
United States

mbartoli is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cape Canaveral, FL
Posts: 156
We have a whole building (commissioned in the mid 80s) with all the critical HVAC being controlled with TI-505 hardware (20 PLCs); the HMI is Intellution, running on a pair of NT4 boxes. We are slowly replacing them one by one with ASIC building automation hardware, with a pair of Schneider Tri-GPs to control the chiller plant. Migrating to Citect for HMI.
__________________
Mark

Those who say it cannot be done shouldn't interrupt the people doing it.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2018, 08:10 AM   #67
sczot
Member
Czech_Republic

sczot is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: cz
Posts: 41
we have some mitsu's FXs running... no numbers, just FX
  Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2018, 09:03 AM   #68
forqnc
Member
United States

forqnc is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Elizabeth City
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by TWS View Post
Originally Posted by JesperMP View Post
The strangest thing was a control system made out of logic blocks (kinda like Lego blocks) with each block having an OR-gate, an AND-gate, or a timer. A nightmare to troubleshoot!

That reminds me of Cincinnati Milicron Mold Presses. If you wanted to change the logic you had to get out the wire wrap tool.
Someone beat me to it. I wasn't sure if these were classed as PLC. We had several at my previous employer. Got a 1000 tonne "new" to us in early 2000's.
Mechanic and I spent 2 days troubleshooting a fault. You know how it goes...

Us: "Operator what happened the machine was running great."
Operator: "Nothing, it came closed then stopped."

After much head scratching the first day trying to read the prints we had, the second day became a jumper it out and and eliminate. Come to find out this machine, unlike our other smaller Injection Molders, had a pressure switch when clamping up, before it would continue its cycle. Someone had adjust the pressure valve, so it appeared to clamp up but then lost tonnage.
When both our managers came down to see what was going on I asked "can we change it to a PLC?" Right after that production run I was given 2 weeks to rip out the old and replaced with an Automation DL440.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2018, 09:46 AM   #69
AutoMax
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

AutoMax is offline
 
AutoMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Normal/Plymouth/Irvine
Posts: 274
Quote:
Originally Posted by sczot View Post
we have some mitsu's FXs running... no numbers, just FX
I've got a couple hundred Melsec A's still running. Converting them to ControlLogix for the next couple years.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2018, 09:47 AM   #70
lfe
Member
France

lfe is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by sczot View Post
we have some mitsu's FXs running... no numbers, just FX
I installled dozens of FX on earlier 90s and also some big modular A Mitsubishi series,
__________________
Suppanel HMI
  Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2018, 09:59 AM   #71
iadapt
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

iadapt is offline
 
iadapt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 169
Were running a GE Fanuc 90 30. They work, amazingly!
__________________
I Adapt...How about you?
  Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2018, 10:04 AM   #72
DBLD99
Member
United States

DBLD99 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 210
Work for an Integrator all the plants that we support are finally up to CLX - L61 is the worst processor we have, and any new plants get the same treatment.



It's really nice
  Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2018, 10:51 AM   #73
iadapt
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

iadapt is offline
 
iadapt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by iadapt View Post
Were running a GE Fanuc 90 30. They work, amazingly!
I'm doing some work at a place with heavy and old, very old equipment, from 50 years ago.
__________________
I Adapt...How about you?
  Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2018, 11:55 AM   #74
Ronnie Sullivan
Member
United Kingdom

Ronnie Sullivan is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: London
Posts: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by lfe View Post
I installled dozens of FX on earlier 90s and also some big modular A Mitsubishi series,

The Mitsubishi A series are bullet proof.
Installed loads 25 years ago and they are still chugging away 24/7

Changed some relay output units but that's it.
I have some replacement Q series programmed and waiting, gathering dust but as they work 24/7 they don't want to do it until they have to.
__________________
I promise to get it right 3rd time every time.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2018, 02:50 PM   #75
AutoMax
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

AutoMax is offline
 
AutoMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Normal/Plymouth/Irvine
Posts: 274
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronnie Sullivan View Post
The Mitsubishi A series are bullet proof.
Installed loads 25 years ago and they are still chugging away 24/7

Changed some relay output units but that's it.
I have some replacement Q series programmed and waiting, gathering dust but as they work 24/7 they don't want to do it until they have to.
Wait until they hit 30 years old. They start biting the dust. Regardless, 30 years is nothing to scoff at. They're not PLC5's, but they're pretty solid
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rs logix 5000 varunmahendran91 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 October 6th, 2014 01:26 PM
How to handle PLC failures blackandredwarrior LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 39 October 19th, 2012 11:02 AM
Message command between two AB PLC 5's running in RSLogix Emulate 5 jarodl LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 July 10th, 2011 02:29 PM
PLC System Alarms to DCS !!! Tomsci LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 January 25th, 2010 08:15 AM
Delay Timer AGENTTINFOIL LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 February 11th, 2006 07:25 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:02 AM.


.